Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Web-based application for managing AutoCad projects

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
464 Views, 3 Replies

Web-based application for managing AutoCad projects

I am a software engineer and I did not use Auto Cad before. Currently we start working on a system that uses AutoCad. The customer is an engineering firm, and they ask us for creating a new web-based system that allows civil engineers, mechanical engineers to work on the same AutoCAD drawing at the same time. For example to allow engineers to check-in certain drawing updating it using their browsers and then check-out and publish their drawing.

So my questions are:-

1. Does AutoCad provide a web-based application , which allow users to access and manage autoCad drawing using their web browsers.
  2. If the above answer is yes. Then does this web-based application provides functions to check-in and check-out the drawing to allow multiple employees to work on the same drawing .

Thanks in advance for any help.

Regards

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
dgorsman
in reply to: Anonymous

There are a few online tools, such as AutoCAD 360 and AutoDesk 360 (basically, look for AutoDesk product names with "360" added).  The DWG structure isn't designed for multiple users to simultaneously work on the same file, so the process would be be check out (lock) -> do work -> check in (unlock).  If you want a more dedicated document management system, investigate Vault.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
"I don't know" is the beginning of knowledge, not the end.

Message 3 of 4
jggerth
in reply to: Anonymous

To put it in other terms, you are looking for a Web-capable EDMS that can correctly handle AutoCAD DWG files ( w/ Xref's etc)