Community
AutoCAD Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Use dwg (or dxf) files in a web browser.

16 REPLIES 16
Message 1 of 17
fabrizio.ranieri
8524 Views, 16 Replies

Use dwg (or dxf) files in a web browser.

Hello,

i am no autocad expert. Some client asked to me to realize a web application that should be able to

- acquire dwg/dxf file via http upload

- display the content of a dwg file in a web browser

- detect and move / change some item (walls, windows, etc.)

I didn't find any javascript library, and the only thing that comes to my mind is to convert dwg/dxf into svg. Can you suggest any alternative approach or product, even commercial non-free products?

Thank you

16 REPLIES 16
Message 2 of 17

Hi,

there may be some products available showing DWG or DXF, but exactly that point makes me loud thinking:

>> change some item (walls, windows, etc.)

In case of changing components of the drawing, you don't need a viewer, you need an editor; one step more: in case of architectural objects like doors and windows you need an editor like AutoCAD ACA or REVIT. That is not written in a day or 2.

Converting it to SVG (or any other viewer format) does not make it editable automatically, e.g. changing a window from one type to another means more than make lines longer or shorter, you have to update dimensions, hatches and so on. PLUS: when you return the SVG to e.g. REVIT you have destroyed the previous structure.

What is the goal, and why do anyone having AutoCAD trying to upload the drawing to modify it externally?

Look also to the >>>Autodesk 360<<<, there you have the chance to at least modify simple geometry objects.

- alfred -

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at ... blog.hollaus.at ... CDay 2024
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------