AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jamied2000
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
Message 1 of 14 (283 Views)

Switching Page Layouts switches drawings

283 Views, 13 Replies
10-05-2012 08:19 AM

When I try to switch to a different layout in a drawing AutoCAD will switch to a different drawing.  Then I have to go and get back to that drawing to do anything to the layout.  Is there a solution for this issue that anyone knows of because it is really starting to get annoying.

Distinguished Contributor
jamied2000
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
Message 2 of 14 (265 Views)

Re: Switching Page Layouts switches drawings

10-05-2012 08:40 AM in reply to: jamied2000

This is getting really annoying.  Even when I switch from model space to paper space it switches drawings.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,581
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 3 of 14 (248 Views)

Re: Switching Page Layouts switches drawings

10-05-2012 10:46 PM in reply to: jamied2000

Hi,

 

how do you switch to a different layout? At least the question here is have you the layout-tabs visible? (short screenshot would be fine so we see where you click or what you type)

What happens if you just set the variable "CTAB" to the name of the layout you want to get current?

 

And I hope you have not an application running that handles the layout switching :smileywink:

 

- alfred -

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
donkluesner2343
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-08-2010
Message 4 of 14 (187 Views)

Re: Switching Page Layouts switches drawings

01-18-2013 08:28 AM in reply to: jamied2000

I have the same problem, but it happens during a regen. any thing that causes AutoCAD to regenerate will cause it to jump to another drawing (and some times to another program I.E. fire fox or word (which ever was the last accessed befor the regen) we use sheet sets and I can change from the view tabs drawing tabs or the sheet set and it will jump to unexpected places.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,581
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 14 (186 Views)

Re: Switching Page Layouts switches drawings

01-18-2013 10:44 AM in reply to: donkluesner2343

Hi,

 

>> and some times to another program I.E. fire fox or word

I saw that too, but only with Windows7. It never happened to me with WinXP or Vista.

What OS do you have?

 

I never had the situation that it jumped to another drawing (within the same AutoCAD session). But if you have opened AutoCAD multiple times then it just brings the current process to background (in that case AutoCAD session 1 behind AutoCAD session 2).

 

And that brings me to the idea: what happens if you change the sysvar TASKBAR? If it's 1 set it to 0, if it's 0 set it to 1 ... and watch how it's going on now.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
donkluesner2343
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-08-2010
Message 6 of 14 (179 Views)

Re: Switching Page Layouts switches drawings

01-18-2013 11:56 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I am running win 7 ultimate 64 bit sp1 with 16gb ram and 32gb page file,  intel i7 870 @ 2.93GHz 2.93 GHz this has only been an issue with 2013 I ran 2012 on this machine and had no problem, I only have 1 autocad session open (others that I work with are having the same problem one is working in civil as autocad, I have the original revit architecture suite. the others just have AutoCAD) I am currently testing the "TASKBAR" suggestion

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,617
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 7 of 14 (171 Views)

Re: Switching Page Layouts switches drawings

01-18-2013 01:22 PM in reply to: donkluesner2343

TASKBAR seems to be the culprit in Win7 from what I can tell.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
jamied2000
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
Message 8 of 14 (158 Views)

Re: Switching Page Layouts switches drawings

01-21-2013 08:49 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Setting taskbar variable does not help any.

Member
donkluesner2343
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-08-2010
Message 9 of 14 (143 Views)

Re: Switching Page Layouts switches drawings

01-21-2013 01:59 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

taskbar set to 0 seems to be helping

Distinguished Contributor
jamied2000
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
Message 10 of 14 (143 Views)

Re: Switching Page Layouts switches drawings

01-21-2013 02:02 PM in reply to: donkluesner2343

I had mine set at 0 and then set it to 1.  It still did the same thing either way that I had it set.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.