Community
AutoCAD Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STL to DWG to STL Problems... I want to print!

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
rickyh2007
3370 Views, 2 Replies

STL to DWG to STL Problems... I want to print!

Background: Hello and good day. I am a student in high school, still relatively a novice in AutoCAD. We are constructing phone cases, and I decided to use one that I downloaded from Thingiverse.com as a base to start with. When I downloaded it, the file was an stl file, ready to go. I, however, wanted to alter it. Therefore I found a converter, opened up the DWG in AutoCAD, scaled it from millimeters to inches, and began editing. I needed to print out a prototype to make sure the dimensions will fit my phone before I continue. I exported the file from the DWG in AutoCAD 2015 to an STL to be opened in, oriented, and printed through CatalystEX. But...

Problem: The object that appears in Catalyst is a ridiculously small rectangular prism with no subtractions. It is just a rectangular prism... even if my phone was an inch or less long, the box would have no slot to stick my phone into...

I tried the original downloaded STL file, and it works fine (Catalyst asks to use millimeters as a unit). However, when I export the (converted) DWG file back to STL, even if I do not scale it, the same result occurs (although larger if I keep the STL in millimeters while the Catalyst program is defaulted to inches).

Question: What is happening and why? Can I even use the original STL file that I downloaded? Is there some way I can work around this, mabe just copying and pasting the work I have already done onto a new AutoCAD project? I figured using the downloaded case as a base would save me a lot of work, but it seems to be more work than it is worth... 

Thank you for your time!

-Ricky Heath, rickyh2007@gmail.com 

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
JDMather
in reply to: rickyh2007

@rickyh2007 wrote: