AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Valued Contributor
TheRuinner13
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎03-14-2005
Message 1 of 9 (1,402 Views)

Stacked Fractions as Standard out-of-the-box behavior

1402 Views, 8 Replies
08-16-2012 03:45 PM

We upgraded to 2013 and I didn't migrate my customizations before I unistalled the old versions.

 

...bad on me.

 

I know someone put a lot of thought into "WHY" AutoCAD should be distributed with stacked fractions as standard out-of-the-box deployment. 

 

The question I ask myself, and anyone else who cares to chime in, is "Did Autodesk ask their client base how they felt about stacked fractions?"

 

My personal feelings on the matter are that they should be horizontal. Go ahead and leave the option for stacked "publishing" style for those who have better control over what scale their product gets reprinted from a 
PDF onto 11x17 etc.

 

I prefer that my fraction numbers are the same size as my regular text.

 

Tx,

Bill

 

Windows 7 Pro SP1, HP Z400 w/Dual ZR24w Monitors, 12G Ram, AutoCAD MEP 2012
Valued Contributor
stevecee
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎01-03-2008
Message 2 of 9 (1,391 Views)

Re: Stacked Fractions as Standard out-of-the-box behavior

08-17-2012 05:33 AM in reply to: TheRuinner13

I'm with you on this. Not only does it want to stack fractions, but any other sets of numbers that use the forward slash to seperate them, such as the date.

 

It would appear that Autodesk is doing what they want instead of asking the end user what they need.


^-^-^-^-^-^-^-^-^-^-^-^-^
°°AutoCAD Rel 1 - 2014°°

For when the One Great Scorer comes
To write against your name,
He marks-not that you won or lost-
But how you played the game.
Grantland Rice
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,728
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 9 (1,387 Views)

Re: Stacked Fractions as Standard out-of-the-box behavior

08-17-2012 05:42 AM in reply to: TheRuinner13

Since this is a user-option to change, and not everyone using AutoCAD shares your opinion on HORIZONTAL or 'same size' as being the default, I'm not sure any choice they would have made would please everyone.

 

Guess what, your standards are not anyone else's really, some of us share many choices and we still do things individually: how is a company to guess at all the variations and please everyone? Think about it :smileyhappy:

 

Sorry you left your customizations behind: it appears you really needed them badly but never thought to back them up? Ever? Please don't repeat that mistake again, when you are done customizing this version take the time to back them up to a separate drive immediately, then take the time to regularly back them up often afterwards.

Hope you back up your DWG/BAK files regularly too.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
itbemedg
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
Message 4 of 9 (1,385 Views)

Re: Stacked Fractions as Standard out-of-the-box behavior

08-17-2012 05:50 AM in reply to: TheRuinner13

I agree but then again, it's just one more thing that I permanently change with each deployment of Autocad.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 5 of 9 (1,374 Views)

Re: Stacked Fractions as Standard out-of-the-box behavior

08-17-2012 07:31 AM in reply to: itbemedg

No matter what they make the OOTB settings, there will be 10x the people complaining that it was changed.  Not that there are more one than another on any given issue, its just that people don't really post when things are working the way they want, so results here get skewed towards the negative.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Valued Contributor
itbemedg
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
Message 6 of 9 (1,373 Views)

Re: Stacked Fractions as Standard out-of-the-box behavior

08-17-2012 07:45 AM in reply to: dgorsman

Yes, you can't please all of the people all of the time.

 

I have ACAD 11, 12 and 13 running and they're all great. In fact, am getting my new computer next week to add Revit. I'm backing up and copying everything that matters in order to get ready for the switch and I am confident that 12, 13 and Revit will play nicely together.

*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Posts: 1,648
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 7 of 9 (1,361 Views)

Re: Stacked Fractions as Standard out-of-the-box behavior

08-17-2012 09:57 AM in reply to: TheRuinner13

It would have been nice if a dialog prompted for the preference the first time a "/" character was entered rather than to assume stacked.  I deliberately do not migrate because it generally causes more problems than it solves.

Valued Contributor
TheRuinner13
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎03-14-2005
Message 8 of 9 (1,328 Views)

Re: Stacked Fractions as Standard out-of-the-box behavior

08-19-2012 08:26 PM in reply to: dbroad

It just seems like the stacked fraction thing is a case of technology-for-technolgy's-sake.

 

Maybe I'll run a poll. Really I'm curious, not being ticked or snarky.

 

 

Another item "OOTB" is the alias "R".

 

Does anyone Redraw anymore?

 

...rotate might be a better alias.

Windows 7 Pro SP1, HP Z400 w/Dual ZR24w Monitors, 12G Ram, AutoCAD MEP 2012
Valued Contributor
TheRuinner13
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎03-14-2005
Message 9 of 9 (1,326 Views)

Re: Stacked Fractions as Standard out-of-the-box behavior

08-19-2012 08:31 PM in reply to: pendean

pendean

 

"Hope you back up your DWG/BAK files regularly too."

 

I am in a vault environment. IT handles the rest.

Windows 7 Pro SP1, HP Z400 w/Dual ZR24w Monitors, 12G Ram, AutoCAD MEP 2012
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.