Sheet Set User Permissions/Restrictions over Network

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
V08J11
1613 Views, 12 Replies

Sheet Set User Permissions/Restrictions over Network

Hello there, 

Usually I am able to find answers, but not in this case.  Our office works off a server, and I created a AutoCAD 2014 Sheet Set and dropped the .dst file on the network, which I am able to open and modify.  I allowed the domain users full control of the .dst file, but my team member is not able to open or load the file stored in the network.  I closed the Sheet Set file but he is still not able to load the file.  

I am wondering if there are user restrictions on Sheet Set files?  Also, can two people have the .dst file open (maybe one that is Read-Only)?  I am new to Sheet Set creation, and would appreciate any guidance.  

Thank you!

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
Victoria.Studley
in reply to: V08J11

Good Afternoon Vanessa,

First, I have a link to some recommendations for working with Sheet Sets in a network environment, which should help get you started: About Using Sheet Sets in a Networked Environment. This explains how the DST file is accessed and modified by multiple users, and provides recommendations for what each team member should have access to in order to contribute to the project.

Second, since you can open and modify the Sheet Set, but your teammate cannot, I'd like to know:

• If you log into his machine using your credentials, can you access and modify the Sheet Set, or is it still locked from this machine?
  • If your teammate logs into your machine, can he now access and modify the Sheet Set?
  • Are there any other users with access to the Sheet Set, who could test this, or just the two of you? (I'd like to know if you are the only one who can access it, or if your teammate is the only user who can't.)

If you have additional information or questions, please post them here, and we can work through the issue. Have a nice afternoon!

Victoria Studley