AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Contributor
Quartzelec_Manchester
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-20-2008
Message 1 of 15 (1,447 Views)
Accepted Solution

Quality of PDF Output when PDF Underlay is Used

1447 Views, 14 Replies
03-06-2013 01:38 AM

Similar problem as found in this thread: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2013/Quality-of-PDF-Output-when-PDF-Underlay-is-Used/m-p/36873... but the kind chap didn't post the solution.

 

I'm using a PDF overlay which looks perfect in CAD and print Preview. When printing to PDF the quality drops to a level which is useless. I have tired increasing DPI and Quality settings but the outcome is the same. Please take a look at the pictures any advice would be appreciated.

 

Print Screen Of Print Preview - Notice Quality of text on the panel

Print Screen Of Print Preview

Print Screen Of Actual PDF - Text unreadable...

http://i724.photobucket.com/albums/ww243/mardon85/ScreenPrintofPDFquality_zps70ceafe2.jpg

EDIT-- It seems I can't upload an image big enough to show the issue. You'll have to take my word for it.

Print Screen of PDF

Hi,

I wanted to check back to see if you had everything working as expected or if you would be able to post some samples? Thanks!

 

Volker

Distinguished Mentor
steve216586
Posts: 915
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 2 of 15 (1,412 Views)

Re: Quality of PDF Output when PDF Underlay is Used

03-06-2013 08:05 AM in reply to: Quartzelec_Manchester

It depends on the size of the pdf.  Lets say I have an 11x17 pdf of a football field.  When I place it in my drawing and scale it to be real size, the yard markers are going to be very blurry.  If I have an 11 x17 pdf of a pencil and repeat procedure, the drawing will print the #2 Ticonderoga label very well.

 

A "D" size pdf will be clearer in your drawing than the "B" size pdf after scaling to real size. 

 

Sometimes though you have to break the rules of CAD drafting if the results of your drawing depend on the image quality of the pdf.  You may have to half or quarter size your drawing so the scaling of the pdf is minimalized.  I used to "Have" to do this with certain pipelines which were over 5 miles long and I only had a Plan View pdf and not section pdfs of every few hundred feet.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,365
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 3 of 15 (1,408 Views)

Re: Quality of PDF Output when PDF Underlay is Used

03-06-2013 08:16 AM in reply to: steve216586

Plus, printing a PDF to a PDF is essentially sampling an image to create another image rather than copy-clipping the PDF content directly into another PDF.  There will be a gradual degradation of quality.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Contributor
Quartzelec_Manchester
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-20-2008
Message 4 of 15 (1,405 Views)

Re: Quality of PDF Output when PDF Underlay is Used

03-06-2013 08:31 AM in reply to: dgorsman

I thought with the PDF being created from a vector and CAD seeing it as such (I can snap onto lines within the PDF) that it would not degrade. Its perfect in CAD its perfect in Print Preview but there is a massive loss of quality once printed. I'm wondering if there is a hidden DPI setting i'm missing somewhere?

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 2,131
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 5 of 15 (1,400 Views)

Re: Quality of PDF Output when PDF Underlay is Used

03-06-2013 08:37 AM in reply to: Quartzelec_Manchester

To clarify, which of the many PDF printers are you using?  Adobe? Bluebeam? CutePDF? Adesk's own Dwg to Pdf?

Contributor
Quartzelec_Manchester
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-20-2008
Message 6 of 15 (1,396 Views)

Re: Quality of PDF Output when PDF Underlay is Used

03-06-2013 08:43 AM in reply to: JGerth

It will do it from official Adobe and Cute PDF or even from CAD. If I use an raster or Vector image as an underlay (or even a screen print from the print preview of CAD) rather than a PDF it looks better. This shouldn't be the case. It not even an overly complicated drawing as you can see.

Product Support
Volker_C
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎10-20-2011
Message 7 of 15 (1,325 Views)

Re: Quality of PDF Output when PDF Underlay is Used

03-14-2013 04:22 PM in reply to: Quartzelec_Manchester

Hi,

Do you have the same problem when plotting a drawing file to PDF using the DWG to PDF.PC3 or is it only when you have a pdf underlay to pdf?

 

Thanks,

Volker

Please let us know if your questions have been answered by selecting, "Accept as Solution"



Volker Cocco
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
Quartzelec_Manchester
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-20-2008
Message 8 of 15 (1,319 Views)

Re: Quality of PDF Output when PDF Underlay is Used

03-15-2013 01:28 AM in reply to: Volker_C

No it plots to PDF perfectly fine. All items within the PDF look fine except the PDF underlay. The PDF is perfect quality on screen and in prevews its only when actually plotted.

Product Support
Volker_C
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎10-20-2011
Message 9 of 15 (1,305 Views)

Re: Quality of PDF Output when PDF Underlay is Used

03-15-2013 10:26 AM in reply to: Quartzelec_Manchester

Have you modifed visual styles in this drawing? Try the following:

In model space set the visual style to 2D Wireframe

In the layout (if used), make the viewport active and verify that it is set to 2D Wireframe

Select the viewport frame, in the Properties palette ->> Misc ->> Shadeplot. Set this to "As displayed', if that makes no difference try, 'Legacy Wireframe".

 

If you don't see a difference can you post some sample files? Be sure to remove sensitive data.

 

Cheers,

Volker

Please let us know if your questions have been answered by selecting, "Accept as Solution"



Volker Cocco
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Product Support
Volker_C
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎10-20-2011
Message 10 of 15 (1,265 Views)

Re: Quality of PDF Output when PDF Underlay is Used

03-19-2013 05:09 PM in reply to: Volker_C

Hi,

I wanted to check back to see if you had everything working as expected or if you would be able to post some samples? Thanks!

 

Volker

Please let us know if your questions have been answered by selecting, "Accept as Solution"



Volker Cocco
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.