AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Valued Contributor
knmdk
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
Message 1 of 11 (346 Views)
Accepted Solution

Properties Palette won't semember columns settings

346 Views, 10 Replies
07-09-2013 04:10 PM

Hey there,

 

I'm experiencing a weird bug appeared out of nowhere. Every single time I start AutoCAD 2013 my Properties Pallete's columns reset their size. Please see attached image for an example.

 

I've tried re-saving workspace to a new one. It won't help. It also doesn't matter if I open application using shortcut or by double-clicking DWG file.

 

It's very annoying so maybe someone knows how to fix it?

Or if you feel more adventurous.....

 

Close Civil 3D

Go to this directory: %appdata%\Autodesk\C3D 2013\enu\Support\Profiles\<your profile name>

Find the file "Profile.aws" and rename it to something else like "Profile.aws.bak" (make sure file extensions are visible in Explorer)

Restart Civil 3D

Any difference?

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,732
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 2 of 11 (311 Views)

Re: Properties Palette won't semember columns settings

07-10-2013 11:23 AM in reply to: knmdk

Is system variable LOCKUI set to 0?

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Valued Contributor
knmdk
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
Message 3 of 11 (293 Views)

Re: Properties Palette won't semember columns settings

07-10-2013 08:30 PM in reply to: Jay_B

Yes, LOCKUI is 0. I've just tried changing it back and forth without result.

*Expert Elite*
nestly2
Posts: 1,982
Registered: ‎04-22-2013
Message 4 of 11 (287 Views)

Re: Properties Palette won't semember columns settings

07-11-2013 12:06 AM in reply to: knmdk

Which flavor of AutoCAD is this,  (the 3 tabs indicate it's not vanilla)

Does it also happen when undocked?   You may try manually adjusting it in the CUI (select the current workspace in the top left pane, then select "Properties" in the top right pane, then adjust the size/location in the lower right pane... APPPLY)

Valued Contributor
knmdk
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
Message 5 of 11 (281 Views)

Re: Properties Palette won't semember columns settings

07-11-2013 01:35 AM in reply to: nestly2

It's Civil 3D. Same thing happens to Properties in both modes (running as Civil 3D and as AutoCAD). I tried what you've suggested and it didn't work. And there was no option to adjust columns widths of Properties Palette inside CUI. Changing size to a diferent one didn't help... BTW it's no matter if the palette is docked or not.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,707
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 11 (273 Views)

Re: Properties Palette won't semember columns settings

07-11-2013 05:35 AM in reply to: knmdk
If there is no resolution here, you probably should consider asking your peers over in the CIVIL3D forum.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,648
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 11 (267 Views)

Re: Properties Palette won't semember columns settings

07-11-2013 06:07 AM in reply to: knmdk

Log into the machine as a new user (a user that has not logged on to the machine before).

When you launch C3D, a new profile will be created.

Does it work OK now?

If so, this indicates something screwy with *your* profile, and you can try this:

http://beingcivil.typepad.com/my_weblog/2011/05/add-reset-user-settings-in-civil-3d-2012.html

 

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,648
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 11 (265 Views)

Re: Properties Palette won't semember columns settings

07-11-2013 06:15 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

Or if you feel more adventurous.....

 

Close Civil 3D

Go to this directory: %appdata%\Autodesk\C3D 2013\enu\Support\Profiles\<your profile name>

Find the file "Profile.aws" and rename it to something else like "Profile.aws.bak" (make sure file extensions are visible in Explorer)

Restart Civil 3D

Any difference?

Valued Contributor
knmdk
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
Message 9 of 11 (253 Views)

Re: Properties Palette won't semember columns settings

07-11-2013 06:25 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

Thanks. R.C. I've done it to both profiles and it's fine now! Maybe you could point me to what information is stored inside profile. So I could double check the settings and delete backup files.

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,648
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 10 of 11 (244 Views)

Re: Properties Palette won't semember columns settings

07-11-2013 06:31 AM in reply to: knmdk

knmdk wrote:

Maybe you could point me to what information is stored inside profile. So I could double check the settings and delete backup files.


I don't know exactly, but it's just an XML file so you can open it in Notepad or an XML file reader and poke around and possibly figure some of it out.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.