AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Contributor
JasonRuhl
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Message 1 of 17 (6,656 Views)
Accepted Solution

PDF Landscape / Portrait Issued - AutoCad 2013, Acrobat 9 Standard

6656 Views, 16 Replies
05-25-2012 10:18 AM

Hi;

 

I'm having ye olde problem of PDFing a 24x36" paper size and not being able to get it into landscape:

Autocad 2013 Problem 007.JPG

 

Yes, this is a problem I've been aware of ever since starting on R14. I have been able to solve it on Acad R14, 200, 2004, 2010, 2011, and 2012 However, this time I cannot get it reliably solved (2013), and I am not looking forward to not being able to use Publish for the 30 page set of drawings I have to PDF next week, let alone every project thereafter. So:

 

- This is a brand new install of Acad 2013 64 bit on a machine I wiped and formatted before the install.

- Acrobat 9 Standard, also a clean install. Acrobat 9 is the only Adobe product I have on this machine. I understand some people say "use Pro" however I was successfully using Standard for both Acad 2010 and 2011.

 

Does anyone have any walkthrough advice, etc. that might help me use Publish again? I have attached my PDF PC3 file (s) if you want to have a look.

 

Update - Discussion groups will not let me attach the PC3 files, please let me know if you want to have a look (by reposnding) and I will repost somehow.

 

Jason

As a thought, are you using Adobe PDF as the plotter or the DWG to PDF.pc3?  I've been through this a few times and found that the DWG to PDF.pc3 actually works better and creates smaller PDF's than Adobe.  We've been running successfully with the DWGtoPDF.pc3 (I have created one that doesn't give the pop-up in Actobat after it's created) for just over three years, and have eliminated the Adobe Acrobat as a plotter choice.

 

If you are making multiple page PDF's, then use Acrobat 9 to combine them.  It will reduce the headache you feel.

 

That's my 2 cents worth.

*Expert Elite*
MarySeufert
Posts: 586
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
Message 2 of 17 (6,642 Views)

Re: PDF Landscape / Portrait Issued - AutoCad 2013, Acrobat 9 Standard

05-25-2012 03:54 PM in reply to: JasonRuhl

In the PC3, create custom paper sizes, 36 x 24, 24 x 36. ~ Mary


_______________________________________________________________________
Normal people believe that if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Software Engineers believe that if it ain't broke, it doesn't have enough features yet.
Contributor
JasonRuhl
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Message 3 of 17 (6,636 Views)

Re: PDF Landscape / Portrait Issued - AutoCad 2013, Acrobat 9 Standard

05-25-2012 04:06 PM in reply to: JasonRuhl

Hi Mary;

 

I have tried this already and it did make a difference int he output but it din't fix the problem: I either got the left side of my drawing, oriented properly with 12" extra beneath it; or what you see in the image.

 

Thanks,

 

Jason

Active Contributor
wundrlik
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 4 of 17 (6,592 Views)

Re: PDF Landscape / Portrait Issued - AutoCad 2013, Acrobat 9 Standard

05-29-2012 07:41 AM in reply to: JasonRuhl

As a thought, are you using Adobe PDF as the plotter or the DWG to PDF.pc3?  I've been through this a few times and found that the DWG to PDF.pc3 actually works better and creates smaller PDF's than Adobe.  We've been running successfully with the DWGtoPDF.pc3 (I have created one that doesn't give the pop-up in Actobat after it's created) for just over three years, and have eliminated the Adobe Acrobat as a plotter choice.

 

If you are making multiple page PDF's, then use Acrobat 9 to combine them.  It will reduce the headache you feel.

 

That's my 2 cents worth.

Ryan A Wunderlich
Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd.
*Expert Elite*
MarySeufert
Posts: 586
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
Message 5 of 17 (6,579 Views)

Re: PDF Landscape / Portrait Issued - AutoCad 2013, Acrobat 9 Standard

05-29-2012 08:27 AM in reply to: JasonRuhl

Hi Jason,

Unless we know what your page setup and PC3 settings are, it is pretty impossible to help you figure this out... :smileyindifferent:

~ Mary


_______________________________________________________________________
Normal people believe that if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Software Engineers believe that if it ain't broke, it doesn't have enough features yet.
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,597
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 6 of 17 (6,577 Views)

Re: PDF Landscape / Portrait Issued - AutoCad 2013, Acrobat 9 Standard

05-29-2012 08:32 AM in reply to: JasonRuhl

I've run into this from time to time as well, with large size plotters but never in PDF (printing to PDF and then the plotter is normally the solution).  Usually the culprit is a settings flag for auto-rotation - the software is trying to make things better but failing so I end up telling it "Don't think about it just do what I tell you!"  :smileyhappy:

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Contributor
JasonRuhl
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Message 7 of 17 (6,558 Views)

Re: PDF Landscape / Portrait Issued - AutoCad 2013, Acrobat 9 Standard

05-29-2012 05:06 PM in reply to: MarySeufert

Thanks Wundrlik, Dgorsman & Mary;

 

For interest I've posted the Acrobat PC3 file in a zip archive.

 

Wundrlik, thanks for your suggestion, that worked right away and I am also now getting smaller file sizes, thanks!

 

Member
holmp
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-23-2010
Message 8 of 17 (5,329 Views)

Re: PDF Landscape / Portrait Issued - AutoCad 2013, Acrobat 9 Standard

02-12-2013 08:10 AM in reply to: JasonRuhl

YOU WON'T BELIEVE THIS! I had the same problem with AutoCAD Map 3D 2013 and Adobe Acrobat 9 Pro!! I believe it's a bug in AutoCAD 2013.

 

TRY THIS: I created a 36x24.pc3, BUT here's the good part. Everything looks good in the view window, LANDSCAPE. Go to CUSTOM PROPERTIES...LAYOUT....ORIENTATION....click on PORTRAIT.  It plots landscape everytime.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 2,209
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 9 of 17 (5,309 Views)

Re: PDF Landscape / Portrait Issued - AutoCad 2013, Acrobat 9 Standard

02-12-2013 11:15 AM in reply to: holmp

Adn if you ignore Adobe, and use the built-in DWG to PDF plotter, does that show the same problem?

Member
holmp
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-23-2010
Message 10 of 17 (5,307 Views)

Re: PDF Landscape / Portrait Issued - AutoCad 2013, Acrobat 9 Standard

02-12-2013 11:20 AM in reply to: JasonRuhl

No there isn't a problem with DWG to PDF. It's odd that I don't have a problem with A, B or C sizes, must D & E.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!