Did you mean: 

need help with a drawing

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
scary2003
424 Views, 10 Replies

need help with a drawing

I'm totally new to cad, I have finished drawing an object in 2 D.  I'm a student in the HVAC-R field and working on duct fab.  I have a project I'm trying to confirm I have drawn it out and want to make sure that the 2 pieces fit together correctly, but need to fold them 90 degrees first. Can anyone help??

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
JDMather
in reply to: scary2003

This won't be of much help to you, but after using the sheet metal tools in Autodesk Inventor, I consider AutoCAD 2D to be pretty much fantasy - not a good digital representation of the real world.

A couple of things to consider - Autocad dimensioning defaults to 4 decimal places, but even in precision machining most work is done to 3 decimal places.  I would not expect to see a sheet metal part like this dimensioned to 4 decimal places.

This dimension in particular does not make any sense to me (I added the yellow line).

And zoom way in in the area of the red circle.

4 decimals.png

In Autodesk Inventor the flat pattern would be an after-thought.  I would model in the finished form - what I really really want, and then Inventor would generate the flat pattern for me.  I considered for a moment folding up your part in Inventor, but decided that would be something akin to torture.  I guess you could print it out and fold the paper model to get something of an idea of if you are headed in the right direction.  That is what we used to do when I was in school back in the last century.  Such a "solution" would not be very satisfying to me in this century of digital prototyping where I expect my CAD model to faithfully represent the real world.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional