AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Valued Contributor
FT398
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎03-09-2003
Message 1 of 10 (371 Views)

MV Blocks and Annotative Scaling

371 Views, 9 Replies
09-03-2012 07:05 AM

I'm currently trying to make an MV block which is a comnination of a 2D symbol and its 3D representation. I want the 2D symbol to scale in line with the annotation scale so have set the annotative flag on my symbol block but I do not want the 3D representation to scale so this does not have the flag set. However, when I put the two blocks into my MV block and then alter the annotation scale, both the 2D and 3D blocks both scale.

 

Is there something more that I need to be doing to to make the two blocks act independently and comply with the annotative flag set on them? I have seen this behaviour work on MEP2013 but can't see anything different on its 'devices' and my simple blocks so I'm not sure where I'm going wrong?

 

Any ideas?

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 2 of 10 (353 Views)

Re: MV Blocks and Annotative Scaling

09-04-2012 09:28 AM in reply to: FT398

Hi,

I think it will help if you upload one of your blocks, even if it is a draft, just to be sure that we understand what you are trying to accomplish.

 

Cheers,

Luciane

 

Luciane Conceição
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
FT398
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎03-09-2003
Message 3 of 10 (341 Views)

Re: MV Blocks and Annotative Scaling

09-05-2012 12:50 AM in reply to: luconceicao

Attached is an MV block and also an MEP Device. Both are essentially doing the same thing, showing a 2D socket symbol in plan view and a 3D representation when moving out of plan view.

 

With the MEP device, you can change the annotation scale and the 2D representation scales accordingly but the 3D representation does not change - this is the exact behaviour I want. The MV block however behaves differently. If I change the annotation scale, both the 2D and 3D objects scale and this is not what I want. Also, the MV block only scales when you are in the VP containing the 2D symbol. If you are in the Front or Iso views and change the scale then nothing happens whereas with the device, the scale alters regardless of which VP is active.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 4 of 10 (330 Views)

Re: MV Blocks and Annotative Scaling

09-05-2012 08:21 AM in reply to: FT398

Thanks for the files.

 

I understand that these files were created in MEP.

Do you want to use them in MEP or AutoCAD?

 

It looks to me that the object in MEP_Device.dwg is working as expected. What else are you trying to achieve?

 

If you want to create a block from scratch in vanilla AutoCAD I'd suggest that you try a dynamic block with visibility states.

 

Cheers,

Luciane

Valued Contributor
FT398
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎03-09-2003
Message 5 of 10 (327 Views)

Re: MV Blocks and Annotative Scaling

09-05-2012 08:27 AM in reply to: luconceicao

The 'device' is from MEP but we don't own any licenses of this product. We have only AutoCAD Architecture and want to be able to exactly mimic the behaviour of the device in a standard MV block which we can create using Architecture.

 

The problem with dynamic blocks is that they too do not obey annotative scaling from what I have experienced and we end up with the 3D geometry scaling as well as the 2D.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 6 of 10 (324 Views)

Re: MV Blocks and Annotative Scaling

09-05-2012 09:00 AM in reply to: FT398

Unfortunately I don't have AutoCAD Architecture to test.

Do you mind posting your question in the AutoCAD Architecture discussion group?

I can move it there if you prefer.

 

Cheers,

Luciane

Valued Contributor
FT398
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎03-09-2003
Message 7 of 10 (322 Views)

Re: MV Blocks and Annotative Scaling

09-05-2012 09:02 AM in reply to: luconceicao

I may be wrong but aren't MV blocks available in all flavours of AutoCAD? If you can create an MV block in vanilla AutoCAD then this question is in no way solely Architecture related.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 8 of 10 (320 Views)

Re: MV Blocks and Annotative Scaling

09-05-2012 09:06 AM in reply to: FT398

No, it is not possible to create mvblocks in vanilla AutoCAD as far as I know.

Also, if you check the properties of the blocks that you sent in AutoCAD you will see that they are not native objects, they are not shown as blocks per se.

 

Cheers,

Luciane

Valued Contributor
FT398
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎03-09-2003
Message 9 of 10 (318 Views)

Re: MV Blocks and Annotative Scaling

09-05-2012 09:10 AM in reply to: luconceicao

My apologies. I didn't realise MV blocks were restricted to Architecture and MEP.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 10 of 10 (316 Views)

Re: MV Blocks and Annotative Scaling

09-05-2012 09:13 AM in reply to: FT398

No problem, please let me know if you want me to move the question to the ACA discussion group.

Cheers,

Luciane

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.