AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Contributor
terry
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-04-2009
Message 1 of 7 (482 Views)

Momentary freeze when selecting solids.

482 Views, 6 Replies
08-16-2012 11:14 AM

This issue is similar to the "Video Freeze" Issue previously posted but somewhat different.  The problem is when I select a solid, autocad freezes for about a minute.  After that minute, I can execute a command.  During that minute of inactivity, I can use anyother program or part of windows normally with no apparent degradation.  If I click in an autocad window, toolbar,etc, all the open autocad windows cloud over and the cursor turns to a spinning cursor.  Outside of an autocad window the cursor is normal.  This is how it works in the noun/verb process, grip editing.  However, if a command is issued first, then the selection of solids is instantaneous. The solid(s) are appropriately highlighted and everything proceeds normally in the verb noun approach.

 

I have played with a variety of suggested performance settings in windows and in autocad.  I have updated the graphics drivers so I always have the latest version.  I have a quadro fx 3700, 16gb ram, and 2.5 tb of disc space.  

 

Anybody have any idea how prevalent this problem is?  Any solution to this?

 

Thanks for any help.

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,574
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 7 (479 Views)

Re: Momentary freeze when selecting solids.

08-16-2012 11:17 AM in reply to: terry

Hi,

 

have you the property-window or quickproperties active? If so close/disable them and try again to select the solid.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
terry
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-04-2009
Message 3 of 7 (473 Views)

Re: Momentary freeze when selecting solids.

08-16-2012 12:48 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Thank you very much for your prompt reply, Alfred.  However, with both properites pallets closed, the issue is the same as when they are open.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,574
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 7 (465 Views)

Re: Momentary freeze when selecting solids.

08-16-2012 01:07 PM in reply to: terry

Hi,

 

does this happen only in a specific drawing or can you reproduce it in a new drawing with just one solid-object?

If so ... upload the drawing so we can look into it.

 

What you also can try:

  • run _AUDIT in drawings with that issues
  • copy&paste your geometry from the "bad" drawing to a new one
  • toggle the hardware-acceleration to look which one runs better
  • change the visual style, try it with "2D-wireframe" and "realistic"
  • try it with another AutoCAD-profile (or by login with another user-account to your Windows)

 

Another questions:

  • are you running any tools or applications on top of AutoCAD?
  • have you looked that your AutoCAD is up-to-date with servicepacks?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
terry
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-04-2009
Message 5 of 7 (459 Views)

Re: Momentary freeze when selecting solids.

08-16-2012 02:21 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Again Thank you.  I truly appreciate your assistance.

 

This happens no matter what the condition of the drawing file.  I created a new file.  Created a block.  Then, when selecting the block, the momentary freeze happens.   It is not a specific file that is doing this.  Audit shows nothing unusual about the files with solid content in them.  Toggling hardware seems to not make much difference to this issue and neither does the visual styles.  However, I logged onto another profile as you suggested and there seems to be no problem.  So,  . .  I will try to set my autocad back to its native state, get rid of all customizations I have made and see what happens.

 

Do you have any thoughts on how to solve this?

 

Thanks again. You seem to have me headed toward a fix, I hope..

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,574
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 7 (457 Views)

Re: Momentary freeze when selecting solids.

08-16-2012 02:39 PM in reply to: terry

Hi,

 

>> Do you have any thoughts on how to solve this?

I don't know what you have customized, what tools you are running, .... and therefor it's not possible (at least for me) to know if it's any part of your customization or - second possibility - AutoCAD crashed and the profile was damaged in the registry.

 

I would start with a clean AutoCAD profile and add tool-by-tool that makes up your customization and look when the problem starts.

 

Sorry not to have "the goal" to solve you issue with one snap.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
terry
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-04-2009
Message 7 of 7 (452 Views)

Re: Momentary freeze when selecting solids.

08-16-2012 04:17 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I reset to defaults and it is now working fine.  Thanks again for your help. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.