AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Member
eileen
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 1 of 11 (236 Views)

model speace paper space

236 Views, 10 Replies
02-19-2013 01:06 PM

in a tabbed drawing the program keeps switching out of model space into paper space while Im working

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 11 (231 Views)

Re: model speace paper space

02-19-2013 01:13 PM in reply to: eileen

Are you accidently clicking on the Tab as you fly around with the mouse?

If you turn off these Tabs does the issue go away?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Member
eileen
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 3 of 11 (230 Views)

Re: model space paper space

02-19-2013 01:16 PM in reply to: eileen
Not clicking on the tab, just flying the curser around and scrolling in and out. Eileen Wunderlich Senior Interior Designer BBA Design 202-1168 Hamilton Street Vancouver, B.C. Canada V6B 2S2 T: 604.688.4434 F: 604.688.5445 eileen@bba-design.comwww.bba-design.com click here to subscribe to iNspire, BBA's Quarterly enews http://eepurl.com/F9nx
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 4 of 11 (210 Views)

Re: model space paper space

02-19-2013 01:56 PM in reply to: eileen

Have you tried turning the Tabs off to see if that helps?

I catch a Tab form time to time when in the groove and it is only because I touched it and clicked.

For me it's down and right when doing a selection window or up and left when starting a crossing window.

 

It would be unusual for CAD to just switch spaces without something intervening.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 5 of 11 (205 Views)

Re: model space paper space

02-19-2013 02:08 PM in reply to: eileen

Are you going to the actual model tab, or activating a viewport in the layout?

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Member
eileen
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 6 of 11 (200 Views)

Re: model space paper space

02-19-2013 02:30 PM in reply to: dgorsman

working in a viewport

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,666
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 7 of 11 (192 Views)

Re: model speace paper space

02-19-2013 02:38 PM in reply to: eileen
Sounds like you are activating VPMAX, not actually going to the model tab.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 8 of 11 (161 Views)

Re: model speace paper space

02-20-2013 04:46 AM in reply to: pendean

Still not something that would randomly happen while in an active Viewport.

Thought dbl clicking may do so but not here.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,666
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 11 (155 Views)

Re: model speace paper space

02-20-2013 04:54 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

"...Not clicking on the tab..."

"...just flying the curser around..."

Double-clicking on a viewport outline puts you in VPMAX: a possible shortcut or screen icon/button accidentally triggered may be helping as well.

 

I suspect by "flying around" the OP may be doing more than that realize with delicate mouse button presses and clicking.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 10 of 11 (131 Views)

Re: model speace paper space

02-20-2013 01:59 PM in reply to: pendean

Did not try the outline just inside.

This does remind me of the times I did that and wondered what was going on

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.