AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 777
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 11 of 23 (611 Views)

Re: Midpoint of a line

04-27-2012 11:10 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

Rkmcswain:

 

You're probably right about the features likely already being set.

 

What do you mean there is no "polygon object"?  Maybe I don't fully understand what an "object" is, but when you use the polygon command, something is definitely created.  And that thing, whether it's an object by definition or not, it would be great if it had a center point to snap to.


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP2, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,638
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 12 of 23 (605 Views)

Re: Midpoint of a line

04-27-2012 11:15 AM in reply to: nrz13

The polygon and rectangle commands simply create a closed Polyline (Either a POLYLINE, or LWPOLYLINE)

Polylines, even closed ones, do not have a "center" property.

 

Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 777
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 13 of 23 (599 Views)

Re: Midpoint of a line

04-27-2012 11:23 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

Rkmcswain:

Well, it would also be great if a center point was generated for the polyline and rectangle commands, but I was actually referring to the polygon command and that it would be nice if it did have a center point (not that it does).

 

A square, of course, is just a 4-sided polygon.


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP2, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,638
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 14 of 23 (598 Views)

Re: Midpoint of a line

04-27-2012 11:28 AM in reply to: nrz13

My mistake (since corrected). It should have said Polygon.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,322
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 15 of 23 (593 Views)

Re: Midpoint of a line

04-27-2012 11:39 AM in reply to: nrz13
Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 777
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 16 of 23 (588 Views)

Re: Midpoint of a line

04-27-2012 11:49 AM in reply to: Patchy

Patchy:

That's a cool routine, but the nodes it creates aren't actually a part of the polyline (not a grip that shows up, such as the centerpoint grip that shows up on a circle).  It doesn't move or auto-adjust with the shape.  For simpler objects, it doesn't save any more time than what rkmcswain illustrated in his animation.  Thanks anyway, though.


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP2, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,638
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 17 of 23 (584 Views)

Re: Midpoint of a line

04-27-2012 12:05 PM in reply to: nrz13

nrz13 wrote:

Patchy:

That's a cool routine, but the nodes it creates aren't actually a part of the polyline (not a grip that shows up, such as the centerpoint grip that shows up on a circle).  It doesn't move or auto-adjust with the shape.  For simpler objects, it doesn't save any more time than what rkmcswain illustrated in his animation.  Thanks anyway, though.


It's not supposed to be part of the polygon (polyline entity).

 

But if you'll take that code, put a semicolon (:smileywink: in front of the next to last line so that is reads ;(command "point" pt) and then add a line below that that says pt.

 

Now load this function, start the LINE command (or any other command), but instead of picking a point, enter 'CENTER (note the leading apostrophe) - and then pick the polygon (polyline). Now resume the command.

 


Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 777
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 18 of 23 (579 Views)

Re: Midpoint of a line

04-27-2012 12:23 PM in reply to: rkmcswain

Rkmcswain:

That's definitely an improvement in this instance, but it still takes about the same amount of time as the method shown in your animation example and has more stuff to try and remember.  It would be much faster if there was just a grip and a snap point there by default as a part of the shape.

 

Say you wanted to move the entire rectangle and center it on another point.  If there were a grip, you could just grab the rectangle by the grip and move it into place, vs. having to create a virtual node first and then moving it.

 

I'm not trying to discount yours or Patchy's suggestions; I'm just pointing out a way that I think AutoCAD could be improved to make it more efficient and intuitive.  I appreciate the tips nonetheless!


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP2, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,638
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 19 of 23 (577 Views)

Re: Midpoint of a line

04-27-2012 12:30 PM in reply to: nrz13

nrz13 wrote:

Rkmcswain:

That's definitely an improvement in this instance, but it still takes about the same amount of time as the method shown in your animation example and has more stuff to try and remember.  It would be much faster if there was just a grip and a snap point there by default as a part of the shape.

 

The transparent lisp is much faster IF your goal is to construct an object through the "center" of a "polygon".

 

Say you wanted to move the entire rectangle and center it on another point.  If there were a grip, you could just grab the rectangle by the grip and move it into place, vs. having to create a virtual node first and then moving it.

 

So it seems as if your goal in this case is to pick up the polygon and move it using a "center" grip

 

I'm not trying to discount yours or Patchy's suggestions; I'm just pointing out a way that I think AutoCAD could be improved to make it more efficient and intuitive.  I appreciate the tips nonetheless!

 

Unfortunately, suggestions go nowhere here. Try the Augi wishlist and/or the feedback page at www.autodesk.com 


 

Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 777
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 20 of 23 (572 Views)

Re: Midpoint of a line

04-27-2012 12:44 PM in reply to: rkmcswain

Rkmcswain:

I don't have any one particular goal in mind...just listing another possibility where a grip and snap point would come in handy.  I submitted the idea to Autodesk through their website over a year ago.  I guess I could try again.

 

Sorry Elliottam for derailing your thread!


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP2, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.