AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Contributor
abm2k
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-17-2008
Message 1 of 6 (4,297 Views)
Accepted Solution

Line type scale

4297 Views, 5 Replies
06-04-2012 11:17 PM

Hi,

I have a problem with line type scale for hidden line it appears different line type scale in another drawing, al though the setting for line type scale & Global scale factor is same for both the drawings. Is there any other setting for the line type.

Please Help.

 

Thanks

Awes

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,963
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 6 (4,296 Views)

Re: Line type scale

06-04-2012 11:33 PM in reply to: abm2k

Hi,

 

it may be possible, that one drawing is started with imperial settings and the other drawing is based on metric units.

Therefor AutoCAD loads the linetype from ACAD.LIN or in the second case from ACADISO.LIN ==> and within these two linetype-definition-files the distances are different.

 

To get it solved you can:

  • a) select all entities with that linetype
  • b) copy them to a temporary new drawing
  • c) delete them in the current drawing
  • d) run command _PURGE to clean this linetype
  • e) load the correct linetype either from the LIN-file (the one you need) or by copy one element from a drawing where the scaling is as you need
  • f) then copy the objects from your temporary drawing to the active drawing.

 

The easier way, if you don't have any special settings, any special layouts:

  • a) copy the drawing where the linetype scale is correct to a new filename
  • b) erase everything in it (but don't purge the definitions)
  • c) copy all your objects from the "defect" dwg to this new empty one

>> the setting for line type scale & Global scale factor is same for both the drawings

Just to make sure, there are three global settings to compare

  • PSLTSCALE
  • MSLTSCALE
  • LTSCALE

and last but not least you could have assigned every object a different linetype-scale-factor

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Pro
murray-clack
Posts: 1,798
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 3 of 6 (4,281 Views)

Re: Line type scale

06-05-2012 05:26 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Alfred is right in saying that the CAD file is using a different LIN file (because one drawing started with a metric template, and the other with an imperial template).

 

However, Alfred's method to solve the issue is the long-way-around, (sorry, Alfred) and there is a much EASIER way to fix your lines.

 

1. Enter the command MEASUREMENT (note: NOT "Measure") and set the value to either 0 (zero - to load imperial linetypes) or a value of 1 (one - to load metric linetypes)

 

2. Then, enter the command LINETYPE, click the LOAD button, and from the LIN file being displayed, select all the linetypes shown in the window and click OK, and when the "Relaod Linetypes" dialog appears, select "Reload ALL Selected Linetypes" and click OK twice to get back to the command line

 

3. Back in your drawing, enter the command REGENALL, and set the LTSCALE accordingly.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,963
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 6 (4,277 Views)

Re: Line type scale

06-05-2012 05:32 AM in reply to: murray-clack

Hi,

 

you are right, that is a faster way than mine ... without one exception: I'm sure that my way works to get the same linetype from another drawing.

Your way assumes that the linetype in the "source-drawing" (to which it's compared) comes from an unmodified ACAD.LIN or ACADISO.LIN

 

Anyway, under normal circumstances and with AutoCAD-defined linetype-names your way is really faster :smileywink:

BTW: if you select the correct linetype-file you even won't have toset MEASUREMENT or MEASUREINIT before (one less step ==> more faster then) :smileyhappy:

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Mentor
tim.turner
Posts: 1,669
Registered: ‎04-26-2005
Message 5 of 6 (4,259 Views)

Re: Line type scale

06-05-2012 10:13 AM in reply to: abm2k

Unzip the two attached scripts to your desktop. Drag and drop into the Autocad drawing window as needed.

Contributor
abm2k
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎02-17-2008
Message 6 of 6 (4,245 Views)

Re: Line type scale

06-06-2012 01:01 AM in reply to: murray-clack

Thanks Murray

 

Thanks for your solution this faster & easiest way

 

Thanks Again

Awes

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.