AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Contributor
zzzz0r
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎10-17-2012
Message 1 of 8 (2,582 Views)

line thickness

2582 Views, 7 Replies
05-13-2013 09:00 AM

How is it possible to view the line thickness that you have set at the drawing surface? before you polot. I mean drawing and working  with the actual line thickness that you set for the layer? and i do not mean using pline

 

thank you

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,545
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 8 (2,577 Views)

Re: line thickness

05-13-2013 09:08 AM in reply to: zzzz0r

Try Plot>Preview.

Is that what you are after?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 2,041
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 3 of 8 (2,562 Views)

Re: line thickness

05-13-2013 11:50 AM in reply to: zzzz0r

The Show/Hide Lineweight toggle below?

lweight.JPG

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,303
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 8 (2,540 Views)

Re: line thickness

05-14-2013 04:06 AM in reply to: zzzz0r

I'm guessing you mean lineweight, not thickness. Thickness is the "height" of an object in the Z axis.

Lineweight is the perceived "width" of an object, visible only when the lineweight toggle is turned on.

Then again, you can apply lineweights at plot time only using a plot style table in your pagesetup, and not use the AutoCAD lineweight feature at all.

 

Here are two lines, one with a thicker lineweight applied and the other set at 0.0

The LWT toggle is on.

lweight.png

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 5 of 8 (2,536 Views)

Re: line thickness

05-14-2013 04:17 AM in reply to: zzzz0r

In addition to what the others have mentioned, if you also want to see lineweights in your plots you will want to check the Scale Lineweights box in the basic (left) portion of the Plot dialog, and the Plot Object Lineweights in the expanded (right) portion of the same dialog.

 

All of the suggestions given so far should help you both in your model and in plots.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Valued Contributor
mark.martin.se
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 6 of 8 (234 Views)

Re: line thickness

08-13-2014 04:11 AM in reply to: JGerth

Hi,

 

where is the lineweight toggle in AutoCAD 2015?

 

Regards!

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,276
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 7 of 8 (227 Views)

Re: line thickness

08-13-2014 04:48 AM in reply to: mark.martin.se

Click on the customization icon on lower right to enable the Lineweight toggle.

 

2015 tray settings.PNG

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Valued Contributor
mark.martin.se
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎05-19-2011
Message 8 of 8 (217 Views)

Re: line thickness

08-13-2014 05:26 AM in reply to: Jay_B

OK,...thank you!

 

Best regards!

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.