AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
New Member
jonestim324
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-11-2013
Message 1 of 5 (627 Views)
Accepted Solution

Joining Polylines, without changing dimensions

627 Views, 4 Replies
02-11-2013 10:51 AM

Hi, I'm having a bit of trouble getting my polygon closed without changing the dimensions of the polygon.

The drawing attached or at http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/7494/drawingz.png you can see I've got a polygon.

However I do not know the radius of the angles A, B and C. I know that all the lines have to be the dimensions marked.

Can Autocad automatically bend the angle say, at A without changing the dimensions in order to complete the polygon? I tried this http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?106618-Joining-polylines but found it wasn't what I wanted.

Use Constraints and Parametric dimensions (see the Parameters tab).

see attached - drag the endpoint - is this what you want to do?

Add parametric angle dimensions for the angles you know.

 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,228
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 5 (595 Views)

Re: Joining Polylines, without changing dimensions

02-11-2013 12:16 PM in reply to: jonestim324

Use Constraints and Parametric dimensions (see the Parameters tab).

see attached - drag the endpoint - is this what you want to do?

Add parametric angle dimensions for the angles you know.

 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Contributor
LaserGuy
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 3 of 5 (564 Views)

Re: Joining Polylines, without changing dimensions

02-12-2013 05:08 AM in reply to: JDMather

Sample1.png

 

Sample2.JPG

Dell T7500
x5690 Xeon 3.46/3.73GHz
48Gb, 12 SSDs, Quadro K5200,
K40c Tesla,
Win7 x64
AutoCAD Mechanical 2015
Ansys Mechanical 15
New Member
jonestim324
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-11-2013
Message 4 of 5 (547 Views)

Re: Joining Polylines, without changing dimensions

02-12-2013 07:26 AM in reply to: jonestim324

Thankyou very much for the reply, I was able to reproduce this in my copy of AutoCad 2013 for MacOSX.

I see that for d1 3500 I see you set:
  * Parametric > Dimensional Constraint > Horizontal
  * Parametric > Geometric Constraints > Fix

For second line, d2 2320 I see you set:
  * Parametric > Dimensional Constraint > Vertical

For d3, d4, and d5 it appears that you set:
  * Parametric > Dimensional Constraint > Aligned

I also noticed the constraint between d2 & d3, d3 & d4, d4 & d5 you set:
  * Parametric > Geometric Constraints > Coincident

However I realized that there's multiple pentagon shapes which have the same amount sides (5) with the same dimensions but different angles (other than the 90 degree angle). I must have been a bit tired when I asked this question, because that didn't occur to me, heh.

Constraining them only takes care of the lengths, I really need to take some measurements from my physical application.

I had the same error as LaserGuy mentioned there, but it seemed to be fixed when I added the coincident constraints and clicked on on the line rather than the endpoints. (At least that's what I think I did).

In this thread http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?146224-Joining-Polylines-without-changing-lengths-unknown-ange... people suggested using the midpoint and endpoints with intersecting circles in order to work it out, however I don't think this will be necessarily the right angles for my real world application.

Thanks for the helpful answers to an Autocad newbie :smileyhappy:

Active Contributor
LaserGuy
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 5 of 5 (540 Views)

Re: Joining Polylines, without changing dimensions

02-12-2013 07:36 AM in reply to: jonestim324

My example was to show that you need to remove at least two of the contraints to close the geometry.

Dell T7500
x5690 Xeon 3.46/3.73GHz
48Gb, 12 SSDs, Quadro K5200,
K40c Tesla,
Win7 x64
AutoCAD Mechanical 2015
Ansys Mechanical 15
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.