AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Member
grunwaldm
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-24-2013
Message 1 of 13 (2,080 Views)

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014 fails to install

2080 Views, 12 Replies
05-24-2013 02:52 PM

I have tried to install IDSP 2014 several times and it fails to install.  I have attached one of the install logs.

 

The portions that failed to install were:

 

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014

Infraworks 2014

Revit Structural 2014

Navisworks Simulator 2014

3 ds max design

Map 3D

Utility design

AutoCAD 2014

 

The installer never created the Autocad folder on the C drive which has 108 GB free space. 

 

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Mike

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
entropist
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎01-04-2010
Message 2 of 13 (2,077 Views)

Re: Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014 fails to install

05-24-2013 03:07 PM in reply to: grunwaldm

The C++ 2008 Redistributable failed to install. I've seen that prevent the overall installer from finishing.

 

If you look in the directory where all the files were extracted to (before installation) you should find the installer for C++; try running that seperately and then re-run the overall installer.

 

Good Luck!

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,060
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 3 of 13 (2,053 Views)

Re: Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014 fails to install

05-25-2013 04:27 AM in reply to: grunwaldm

Hi,

 

Yep, this error is the first in the log:

Install Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable (x64) Failed Installation aborted, ....

So go to the windows control panel, search if that seems to be already installed (it is, I'm quite sure) ==> select it and uninstall it.

If you find other items like Visual C++ 2008 or 2010 ==> uninstall them too.

Then start the installation again, they will be installed from the Autodesk installer (but the correct version).

 

Good luck, - alfred -

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
grunwaldm
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-24-2013
Message 4 of 13 (2,009 Views)

Re: Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014 fails to install

05-28-2013 11:11 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA
Thanks Alfred, but it continues to fail with the same errors

Mike
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,060
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 13 (2,005 Views)

Re: Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014 fails to install

05-28-2013 11:27 AM in reply to: grunwaldm

Hi,

 

>> it continues to fail with the same errors

So in the logfile it's the same position that shows the (first) failure?

If so try

a) to download the VC++2008 64bit redistributable from the www (>>>here<<<) and install it before you start the Autodesk installer (don't install it's updates, I had a problem some time ago that an update of this package broke the installation of DesignReview, which had an older version in it's setup and so the installation failed).

b) to redownload the whole package

c) reinstall it as new user (you just created with full admin permission, disabled antivirus)

 

Sorry not to have more, good luck, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,416
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 13 (1,992 Views)

Re: Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014 fails to install

05-28-2013 12:56 PM in reply to: grunwaldm

Just for curiosity, what operating system, and does this machine have existing Autodesk products installed, or did it in the past?

Member
grunwaldm
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-24-2013
Message 7 of 13 (1,988 Views)

Re: Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014 fails to install

05-28-2013 01:24 PM in reply to: rkmcswain
Hello again,

I tried to install C++ as you suggested earlier, but I get an error saying that there was already an installation in progress. This was following a fresh re-boot, so I doubt anything else was installing.

This is a Windows 7 system, never has had Autodesk software on it before.

Mike
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,060
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 13 (1,984 Views)

Re: Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014 fails to install

05-28-2013 01:55 PM in reply to: grunwaldm

Hi,

 

>> but I get an error saying that there was already an installation in progress. This was following a fresh re-boot

Do you have Windows-Update activated? If so there might be updates that install also VC++Redist modules. If so then disable the automatic update, do a reboot and try it then again.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
dstein
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-25-2013
Message 9 of 13 (1,835 Views)

Re: Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014 fails to install

06-25-2013 01:25 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

We are having the same problem at my location.  Built the deployment per the guidelines.  Run the installation various ways:  direct via the Img\Setup.exe (with all the options), within a .BAT file, via SCCM 2007, etc.  It either bombs immediately with a 259 error/exit code, or it runs for EVER and then bombs with 1618 or 1603 and then reverses all of it back out.  We've tried this on Windows 7 SP1 x64 Enterprise Edition, clean installation without any other apps installed.  Of the 9 we've tried so far, 6 work fine, 3 failed.  Those three just will not install.  I'm about ready to put them back on 2013 just so the users can have Civil 3D and Map 3D.

Member
grunwaldm
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-24-2013
Message 10 of 13 (1,826 Views)

Re: Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014 fails to install

06-25-2013 02:47 PM in reply to: dstein
I tried on 2 different computers. One I still have not been successful with. Our company uses Sophos anti-virus software and it is known to cause installation problems. Our network group had a fit trying to get around this. I finally got it to install working with David Lau from Autodesk, from a Thumb Drive supplied by Autodesk on a different computer, but I had to install only 2 -3 modules at a time. If I tried to install everything at once it would run for about 5 hrs. then crash. Before running anything, try uninstalling Microsoft C++ xxxx Redistributable (all versions).

I have given up on the one computer and have been successful with one other. I have several more to go, but just haven't had the time. If I have any other glimmers of wisdom, I let you know.

Good Luck,
Mike
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.