AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Member
SAG2013
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-05-2013
Message 1 of 12 (2,094 Views)

Incompatible version error

2094 Views, 11 Replies
06-05-2013 11:03 AM

Okay, this is NOT the typical incompatible version error message that our office is experiencing. We are running (3) versions of AutoCAD ... 2010, 2013, and 2014. ALL, I'll repeat that, ALL, are saving down to 2010. Recently we have been getting errors when opening files on the systems running 2010 that the file being opened (or an xref within a dwg) is an incompatible version. Again, being that ALL machines are saving down to 2010, how is this possible?

We have also audited each of those files and found no errors within them, so I don't even think its a corruption issue.

 

This is driving us nuts! Is there anything else I should be looking at being the problem? Or any idea as to what the problem may be?

 

Thank you for any input in advance.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,617
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 12 (2,086 Views)

Re: Incompatible version error

06-05-2013 11:40 AM in reply to: SAG2013
So it doesn't happen all the time, just sporadically? never the same file? or does it become 'incompatible' forever?
Aer you using Plain AutoCAD 2010/2013/2014, or a vertical?
What is the exact message you get?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 774
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 3 of 12 (2,085 Views)

Re: Incompatible version error

06-05-2013 11:44 AM in reply to: pendean

In addition to those quetions, I'd also add:

Are you able to manually save it as 2010 and have it work?
Have you verified that the files that are giving you this trouble are actually in 2010 format?

(the thought being that the save down feature isn't working correctly, not that you have it setup incorrectly)


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP2, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 12 (2,083 Views)

Re: Incompatible version error

06-05-2013 11:45 AM in reply to: SAG2013

Just a WAG, but the warning may be about AEC content.  This has a version, and it is *not* the same as DWG file format version.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Member
SAG2013
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-05-2013
Message 5 of 12 (2,044 Views)

Re: Incompatible version error

06-06-2013 09:28 AM in reply to: pendean

In reply to your questions ..

no, it happens not all the time. Just from time to time. Typically we'll find a file with this issue every few days. We are working on a very large project and there are numerous files involved, but every few days one or more files pop up that are creating a incompaitble version error either when opening them, or when being loaded within another file as an xref.

 

We are using plain ole AutoCAD 2010/12/13/14. No archtiectural desktop, no add-ons, no frills.

 

The messages we are getting when opening those files are that that file can not be opened as it is a incompatible version. (EXACT wording? .. waiting for the problem to occur to get the EXACT wording, but thats the basis of what we are seeeing.)

And when we have the issue of it not loading in another drawing as an xref, the exref manager just lists it as being an incompatible version.

 

 

So it doesn't happen all the time, just sporadically? never the same file? or does it become 'incompatible' forever?
Aer you using Plain AutoCAD 2010/2013/2014, or a vertical?
What is the exact message you get?

Member
SAG2013
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-05-2013
Message 6 of 12 (2,041 Views)

Re: Incompatible version error

06-06-2013 09:32 AM in reply to: nrz13

If we encounter the error, we can not open it on that particular machine. But the machines running 2013/2014 are able to open it and save down to 2010 thus solving the problem.

And not sure how to verify that the file has been saved to the 2010 format by looking at it .. but we have verified that ALL machines are saving down to 2010 in their options throughout the programs. So that is why we are a bit stumped .... We have even verified that within the etransmit process and such that it is saving down to 2010.

 

In addition to those quetions, I'd also add:
Are you able to manually save it as 2010 and have it work? Have you verified that the files that are giving you this trouble are actually in 2010 format?

(the thought being that the save down feature isn't working correctly, not that you have it setup incorrectly)

Member
SAG2013
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-05-2013
Message 7 of 12 (2,038 Views)

Re: Incompatible version error

06-06-2013 09:34 AM in reply to: dgorsman

No, the warning is that the file can not be opened becuase its an incompatible version, not that there are AEC objects that may not be compatible. That warning we will get opening certain files created in 2014 and opened on the older 2010 machines, but are still able to open those (of course having had it saved down to 2010 format).

Distinguished Mentor
nrz13
Posts: 774
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 8 of 12 (2,036 Views)

Re: Incompatible version error

06-06-2013 09:41 AM in reply to: SAG2013

The next time you have this problem, open the problem drawing with AutoCAD 2013/14 and hit F2 to see what format the drawing thinks it is in.  If it says it's in 2013, you know AutoCAD is not automatically saving down to 2010 as you've set it to and Autodesk needs to look into fixing it.  If it says 2010, then something else and possibly more troublesome is going on.

Either way, if you are on the subscription service, I would contact Autodesk immediately to start the direct troubleshooting process with them, and so they can get working on fixing this possible bug, if that's what it turns out to be.


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
System specs: AutoCAD 2015 64-bit SP2, Windows 7 64-bit SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K, 16GB RAM, Crucial M4 SSD, AMD FirePro V4900, 2 Dell Monitors (2560x1600)
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,730
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 9 of 12 (2,028 Views)

Re: Incompatible version error

06-06-2013 10:00 AM in reply to: SAG2013

The next time you get the error, open the dwg stating incompatible version in Notepad (change file filter in notepad to all files)

 

Top of the file will state one of the following versions, does it indicate AC1024 as expected?

 

AC1027 AutoCAD 2013
AC1024 AutoCAD 2010,2011,2012
AC1021 AutoCAD 2007, 2008, 2009
AC1018 AutoCAD 2004, 2005, 2006
AC1015 AutoCAD 2000, 2000i, 2002
AC1014 AutoCAD Release 14
AC1013 AutoCAD Release 13
AC1009 AutoCAD Release 11, 12
AC1006 AutoCAD Release 10
AC1004 AutoCAD Release 9
AC1003 AutoCAD 2.6
AC1002 AutoCAD 2.5

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,617
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 10 of 12 (2,019 Views)

Re: Incompatible version error

06-06-2013 11:24 AM in reply to: SAG2013
Based on your responses alone, it would appear you are not keeping good track of the DWG formats and somewhere along the line your file(s) are resorting back to R2013 format.

See above tips on how to confirm: 2010 cannot open 2013 format files, someone is either not aware they triggered the change like REFEDIT, WBLOCK and an inattentive SAVE (not Qsave, there is a difference) or SAVEAS is being performed without verifying the consequences.

Setting SAVE to lower formats is not enough to counter the above possible triggers to resave the file to the program's native settings.

Now, if 2013/2014 give you this exact error (which I doubt), stop what you are doing and post that file here. Then we 2013/2014 users can see it for ourselves.

Good luck.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.