AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Member
Andrew_Roe
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 1 of 9 (7,082 Views)

Importing Solidworks Files into AutoCAD

7082 Views, 8 Replies
09-19-2012 06:21 AM

I've been trying to import a Solidworks file (.SLDASM) into AutoCAD 2013. The documentation says this is a valid file type, but it doesn't seem to work The import process completes, but the following message appears: “Import failed. The specified file is invalid or unsupported.” Anybody know of a solution?

Thanks,

Andy R.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,675
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 9 (7,079 Views)

Re: Importing Solidworks Files into AutoCAD

09-19-2012 06:42 AM in reply to: Andrew_Roe

what version of solidworks?

autocad 2013 only supports 2003-2010 solidworks files

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,675
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 9 (7,073 Views)

Re: Importing Solidworks Files into AutoCAD

09-19-2012 06:46 AM in reply to: DarrenP

from the help menu:

IMPORT supports the following versions of Solidworks® files:

 

  • *.prt, *.sldprt (part) - versions 2003 - 2010
  • *.asm, *.sldasm (assembly) - versions 2003 -2010

The following data types are translated:

 

  • Assemblies
  • Parts
  • Surfaces
  • Solids
  • Multi Solids
  • Wire Geometry (2D & 3D)
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,230
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 9 (7,063 Views)

Re: Importing Solidworks Files into AutoCAD

09-19-2012 01:09 PM in reply to: Andrew_Roe

...also, you must have all of the sldprt files that go along with the sldasm file.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Mentor
skintsubby
Posts: 549
Registered: ‎09-29-2004
Message 5 of 9 (7,043 Views)

Re: Importing Solidworks Files into AutoCAD

09-19-2012 08:21 PM in reply to: DarrenP

AutoCAD only supports 2003-2010.

 

However we use Solidworks 2012 and have no problem importing into AutoCAD 2013

Active Member
Andrew_Roe
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 9 (7,035 Views)

Re: Importing Solidworks Files into AutoCAD

09-20-2012 04:57 AM in reply to: Andrew_Roe

Thanks all for your assistance. I do not know what version of Solidworks was used to generate the model. I will try to get the other support files that go with the sldasm file. If I can do that, do I need to do any other prep before running the Import command? Do the other files just need to go in the same folder as the sldasm file?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,230
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 9 (7,027 Views)

Re: Importing Solidworks Files into AutoCAD

09-20-2012 07:06 AM in reply to: Andrew_Roe

Andrew_Roe wrote:

 Do the other files just need to go in the same folder as the sldasm file?



Wouldn't that make logica sense?

 

Actually a sldasm file is little more than a list of hyperlinks to the individual part files, so the file structure should be the same.

The source should use Save As > Pack and Go to package all the files. If all the files were in one folder they could just send you the folder with it's contents without using Pack and Go.  In any case - they should alreay know this information.

 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
New Member
revampeng
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-16-2014
Message 8 of 9 (2,951 Views)

Importing Solidworks Files into AutoCAD 2014

04-16-2014 06:12 AM in reply to: Andrew_Roe

Same issue, new year.  We are operating AutoCAD 2014 and are having the same issue as Andrew_Roe.  Does anyone know the supported Solidworks revisions in AutoCAD 2014? 

 

Is it the same as AutoCAD 2013 which only supported Solidworks 2003-2010?

 

Ross Martin

Production Engineer

Advics

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,650
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 9 (2,948 Views)

Re: Importing Solidworks Files into AutoCAD

04-16-2014 06:16 AM in reply to: Andrew_Roe
Same as 2013
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.