AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Contributor
bcasper
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
Message 1 of 3 (8,237 Views)
Accepted Solution

Importing Google Earth Image

8237 Views, 2 Replies
08-09-2012 05:24 AM

Good morning everyone,

 

I just installed 2013 on my pc yesterday.  The first task I was given was to import a Google Earth image into AutoCAD to try to get some dimensions on a house for an exhibit.  I open Google Earth and set my location to import, then I go to the Render tab, select Set Location, I click Import the current location from Google Earth, click Continuethen i get an error message saying Class not registered.  Is there something i'm missing? I followed the directions given in help step by step, but it isn't working.  Any help or suggestions you could give would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks!

 

Brian

Are you using plain AutoCAD 2013 (where you are posting), or a vertical like Civil 3D (where you should be posting)?

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Google-Earth-utilities-with-R2013-products/td-p/3401499

 

The Google Earth add-ons for plain AutoCAD died due to Google licensing changes and there is no replacement.

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,728
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 3 (8,225 Views)

Re: Importing Google Earth Image

08-09-2012 06:05 AM in reply to: bcasper

Are you using plain AutoCAD 2013 (where you are posting), or a vertical like Civil 3D (where you should be posting)?

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Google-Earth-utilities-with-R2013-products/td-p/34014...

 

The Google Earth add-ons for plain AutoCAD died due to Google licensing changes and there is no replacement.

 

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 515
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 3 of 3 (8,206 Views)

Re: Importing Google Earth Image

08-09-2012 10:42 AM in reply to: bcasper

Assuming your drawing has a known coordinate system, MapWorks Base can place the Google Earth image into your drawing at the proper location, scale and rotation.  Works in any full AutoCAD based product (2007 or higher).

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.