AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Valued Mentor
SeanFarr
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 1 of 6 (2,287 Views)
Accepted Solution

Import Title Block to AutoCAD 2013 from Inventor 2013

2287 Views, 5 Replies
03-12-2013 11:30 AM

Hello,

 

I am very new to AutoCAD and am wondering how to fix my title block. I use Inventor 2013 regularly and only sometimes require the use of AutoCAD, mainly for 2D electrical layout drawings.

 

I have saved my drawing .idw template file from Inventor to a .dwg

Inserted it into AutoCAD .dwg

Saved as an AutoCAD .dwt

 

now the only issue that I have, is the image that I had embedded into the inventor drawing template, shows up as an icon instead of my compnay logo:

 

AutoCAD-TitleBlock.png

 

 

Is AutoCAD capable of showing images in a title block and hwo would I go about deleting the current icon image and replace it with the logo?

 

I tried deleting the current image in block editor but it won't let me select it.

 

 

Thanks!!!

 

Sean

 

AutoDesk Product Design Suite 2013

 

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49
Valued Mentor
SeanFarr
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 2 of 6 (2,276 Views)

Re: Import Title Block to AutoCAD 2013 from Inventor 2013

03-12-2013 12:04 PM in reply to: SeanFarr

So I edited my inventor drawing template, exported as a dwg, imported into AutoCAD as a .dwt and ended up with this:

AutoCAD-TitleBlock-2.png

 

I got rid of the icon logo issue, but now I just need to insert my compnay logo, any help would be appreicated.

 

Thanks

 

Sean

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49
Distinguished Mentor
tschau3
Posts: 505
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Message 3 of 6 (2,267 Views)

Re: Import Title Block to AutoCAD 2013 from Inventor 2013

03-12-2013 01:42 PM in reply to: SeanFarr

You may be able to open your logo file in photo editing application and perform a copy and paste into Autocad resulting in an OLE object.  Does that work for you?

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 2,060
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 4 of 6 (2,261 Views)

Re: Import Title Block to AutoCAD 2013 from Inventor 2013

03-12-2013 02:37 PM in reply to: tschau3

While OLE is a possible option, there are other issues with OLE, and final output quality generally leaves much to be desired.

 

Best advice iI can offer is to recreate your company logo with native AutoCAD entities.  That will give you the most flexibility and highest quality.   Since it's the company logo you're talking about, a brand identity that your customers see - you don't really want them to associate that with blurry, low quality images.  Sends a poorer message than I would want to communicate.

Valued Mentor
SeanFarr
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 5 of 6 (2,237 Views)

Re: Import Title Block to AutoCAD 2013 from Inventor 2013

03-13-2013 06:14 AM in reply to: tschau3

This will work, I created a simple logo awhile back, and it looks fine, copy and paste worked from MS Paint.

 

Thanks!!

 

Sean

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49
Valued Mentor
SeanFarr
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 6 of 6 (2,235 Views)

Re: Import Title Block to AutoCAD 2013 from Inventor 2013

03-13-2013 06:16 AM in reply to: JGerth

Thanks for the heads up in regards to the OLE issues that may be ahead, for now though becasue of time constraints, I will use an image, and will look into logo re-creation in AutoCAD.

 

Thanks!!

 

Sean

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.