AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Contributor
16 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
Post 1 of 9

I cant detach and xref'd .dwg - Never had that prob before ACAD 2012

7595 Views, 8 Replies
06-08-2012 07:42 AM
 
Contributor
24 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Post 2 of 9

Re: I cant detach and xref'd .dwg - Never had that prob before ACAD 2012

06-10-2012 11:13 AM in reply to: maxxlab

We might need some more informtion about your problem but my first suggestion is to see if the Xref has more than one copy of itself in the drawing. I usually Xref in legends, Titleblocks etc. and if I have to remove an xref, I first have to delete all but one copy of the XRef.

 

You can do this easily by using Qselect to select all XRefs and compare the number of items selected to what you have listed in the Xref dialog.

Product Support
583 Posts
30 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Post 3 of 9

Re: I cant detach and xref'd .dwg - Never had that prob before ACAD 2012

06-12-2012 06:29 AM in reply to: maxxlab

Jason's suggestion is very good. However, in case the issue persists, please check the drawings for corruption (using Recover and Audit), or upload the drawings so that we can have a look.

If you don't want to upload them here, let me know and I'll create an FTP folder for you (and check the drawings in privacy).

 

Cheers,

Luciane

 

Luciane Conceição
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Post 4 of 9

Re: I cant detach and xref'd .dwg - Never had that prob before ACAD 2012

11-06-2012 06:46 AM in reply to: maxxlab

In AutoCAD 2012 I have an xref (Xref A)that appears in the External References window, I can't detach the Xref A for the command line reads "Xref has multiple references. Not detached." yet when I detach all the other xrefs in the file leaving the opened drawing and only Xref A available. I select QSELECT and the External Reference is not an option in the pulldown menu under Option Type. Nothing on the model space screen is left to select (for a List properties) and I am at a loss of what to do.

 

Background info:

1) I revised and renamed the original Xref A dwg. and the "Saved Path" is no longer viable leaving the file path text in the drawing.

2) There are multiple paper space sheets (12) in this drawing file.

 

Xref A is not needed or used and everytime you open the drawing and the "Unresolved Reference Files" pop up gives people in the office that something is wrong. I do not want to 'reconstruct' the drawing from scratch because we have multiple people that utilize our drawings and xrefs.

 

Why can I not Detach this Xref A?

 

 

Product Support
583 Posts
30 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Post 5 of 9

Re: I cant detach and xref'd .dwg - Never had that prob before ACAD 2012

11-06-2012 07:00 AM in reply to: dmac12

Hi,

 

After you detach the other XREFs, open the main drawing and use ETRANSMIT.

Does it add any XREFs?

If you upload the resulting ZIP file then we can have a look.

 

Cheers,

Luciane

New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Post 6 of 9

Re: I cant detach and xref'd .dwg - Never had that prob before ACAD 2012

11-06-2012 07:10 AM in reply to: luconceicao
Please consider the environment before printing this e-mail. This e-mail, facsimile, or letter and any files or attachments transmitted with it contains information that is confidential and privileged. This information is intended only for the use of the individual(s) and entity(ies) to whom it is addressed. If you are the intended recipient, further disclosures are prohibited without proper authorization. If you are not the intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, printing, or use of this information is strictly prohibited and possibly a violation of federal or state law and regulations. If you have received this information in error, please notify Children's Medical Center Dallas immediately at 214-456-4444 or via e-mail at privacy@childrens.com. Children's Medical Center Dallas and its affiliates hereby claim all applicable privileges related to this information.
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-26-2013
Post 7 of 9

Re: I cant detach and xref'd .dwg - Never had that prob before ACAD 2012

01-30-2014 01:07 PM in reply to: maxxlab

You probably have it by now, but for others with the same problem....  If "detach" is grayed out, then it may be an x-ref in another drawing that is showing up in your drawing.  Like an x-ref of an x-ref.  Say you put x-ref "z" in drawing "a".  Then you opened a new drawing and x-ref'd "a" into your new drawing "b".  Well, in "b", the "z" would show up in file references, but you woulkd not be able to detach it.  Only detaching "a" would detach it.

New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-24-2014
Post 8 of 9

Re: I cant detach and xref'd .dwg - Never had that prob before ACAD 2012

09-24-2014 04:13 PM in reply to: JasonRuhl

Xref- "Detach" is gray out in the Xref File Reference window; and I cant detach this A Xref file.  Problem is that this A Xref file was attached in other Xref B file as attachment; thus, the A Xref file is circlely Xref two times.  Solution is that open the Xref B file, detach the A Xref file, or Re-attach it as overlay.  

 

Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-28-2013
Post 9 of 9

Re: I cant detach and xref'd .dwg - Never had that prob before ACAD 2012

01-06-2015 05:15 PM in reply to: autoacn

All very good information, thanks to all of the above.  I have found, however, that the only way to fix my xref detatching problem was to tell C3D erase/all and deselect what I wanted to keep.  Nothing was greyed out, no funny symbols in xref names, no attached xrefs...what I have been finding in drawings that are going corrupt on me are that is will multiply my grading criteria sets.  It will(for some reason) copy then and put a .1, .2, .3, and so on and has gotten as high as 9 or 10.  When I already have 10-15 criteria sets it gets pretty annoying and does very funny things.  NO idea if they are related or not, but those are the issues I see when purging unused styles and cleaning my drawing.  I am an advanced user and always keep drawings clean through purge, dgnpurge, purging regapps, audit, and of course occasionally having to start a new file and insert because the header has gone kaput, so any additional input would be much appreciated.  

 

The only other odd thing that I found was that my data references had no problem staying referenced, yet if I took drawings home(working on C3D 2015) and I put them in the same folder the xrefs would NOT reference themselves.  I have NEVER had that problem either.  

 

Thanks in advance! 

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!