Did you mean: 

i am also facing some size problem for my cad drawings

17 REPLIES 17
Message 1 of 18
phaniseshukumar
447 Views, 17 Replies

i am also facing some size problem for my cad drawings

hi every one.

i am quite new to autocad.is any one can help me about reducing the size of my cad file.

what happend is.

when i get the autocad dwgs from my main con, The actual file size is 11.58 MB, They converted all the drawing (i.e, floor plan) into a BLOCK, But i have to change a lot of things in the dwg. So, i done all my chenges using BLOCK EDITOR. After completion i use the Fn of PURGE tooo..but the dwg size is gone to 192.5 MB.and some files are more than 250 MB. So, that i am unable to send my dwgs to my clients.

plese any one of the masters over there help me plzz....

thankss

17 REPLIES 17
Message 2 of 18
braudpat
in reply to: phaniseshukumar

Hello

Have you tried to explode these BIG Assembly Blocks and then PURGE !?

After is the DWG size OK ?

Have you many many strange Linetypes in your DWG ?

Patrice ( Supporting Troops ) - Autodesk Expert Elite
If you are happy with my answer please mark "Accept as Solution" and if very happy please give me a Kudos (Felicitations) - Thanks

Patrice BRAUD

EESignature

Message 3 of 18
phaniseshukumar
in reply to: braudpat

yes sir,i exploded the BIG assembly file and then, i use command of purge. Then the dwg size is increased to 100MB. Actually when i exploded the whole big dwg then there is a increase in file size. i want to reduce the file size and i use the CMD of PURGE.but there is no result. 

yes i have so many strange line  types, which is not related to each other in drawing.

Message 4 of 18
pendean

AutoCAD version?
2014 has a DGN Linetype purge utility you can use to fix the problem if that's the issue.

FYI: exploding objects tends to create larger files.
Message 5 of 18
braudpat

Hello

So you are facing to the "famous" DGN LineType problem !