AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Contributor
calvindale
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-11-2010
Message 1 of 7 (1,296 Views)
Accepted Solution

How to permanently set NAVCUBEDISPLAY and NAVBARDISPLAY to zero

1296 Views, 6 Replies
04-26-2012 10:26 AM

How can I turn off the NAVCUBE and NAVBAR features permanently?  If I set either NAVCUBEDISPLAY or NAVBARDISPLAY to 0 (zero) in a session, both items (annoyingly) reappear the next time I launch AutoCAD.

 

Per another post on the AutoCAD 2012 forum, I've tried setting these variables in the registry here:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Autodesk\AutoCAD\R19.0\ACAD-B005:409\Profiles\<<VANILLA>>\Variables

 

That post

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2012/How-to-hide-or-turn-off-NAVBARDISPLAY-at-startup/td-p/299...

instructs the reader to use a string value (REG_SZ) and set the value to "O" (presumably for "Off"; but that would conflict with "On").  I tried it with both "O" and "OFF".

 

So I've tried that approach; but it's not working: these UI-cluttering features (that I don't want to see) reappear upon launch.  I've also tried setting these as 32-bit and 64-bit values (to zero).  But that hasn't worked either.

 

Any ideas?

 

Many Thanks!

 

So we just upgraded from 2007 (it's a long and unrelated story why it's taken us so long to upgrade).  The other thing I've noticed is that when I drag the command-line box and dock it at the bottom (I want it permanently docked at the bottom), upon the next launch of AutoCAD, it appears again in the hovering undocked position.  It's very annoying that AutoCAD doesn't automatically remember and respect the user's preferences.  And since I'm ranting, my other impression with AutoCAD 2013 is just how incredibly slow it is.  I've got respectible hardware (5.9 Windows experience index), yet AutoCAD 2013 launches like a dog.  It's exasperating to use.

The answer to both of your problems can be solved by creating your own custom workspace. Set up everything you want then use the workspace button and use "save current as" your name's workspace.

Hi,

 

start command _OPTIONS, go to tab "3D modelling" there you have (lower left) the options for ViewCube display.

 

HTH, - alfred -

Valued Contributor
itbemedg
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
Message 2 of 7 (1,294 Views)

Re: How to permanently set NAVCUBEDISPLAY and NAVBARDISPLAY to zero

04-26-2012 10:36 AM in reply to: calvindale

The answer to both of your problems can be solved by creating your own custom workspace. Set up everything you want then use the workspace button and use "save current as" your name's workspace.

Active Contributor
calvindale
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-11-2010
Message 3 of 7 (1,291 Views)

Re: How to permanently set NAVCUBEDISPLAY and NAVBARDISPLAY to zero

04-26-2012 10:46 AM in reply to: itbemedg

Thanks!  Creating a new workspace fixed it for the NAVBAR and the Command-Line.  But it didn't work for the NAVCUBE; it still reappears on launch.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,576
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 7 (1,287 Views)

Re: How to permanently set NAVCUBEDISPLAY and NAVBARDISPLAY to zero

04-26-2012 10:50 AM in reply to: calvindale

Hi,

 

start command _OPTIONS, go to tab "3D modelling" there you have (lower left) the options for ViewCube display.

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
itbemedg
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
Message 5 of 7 (1,282 Views)

Re: How to permanently set NAVCUBEDISPLAY and NAVBARDISPLAY to zero

04-26-2012 11:02 AM in reply to: calvindale

Also, don't forget to resave your new workspace periodically. Many a toolbar or button is lost because the workspace wasn't saved.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 6 of 7 (1,274 Views)

Re: How to permanently set NAVCUBEDISPLAY and NAVBARDISPLAY to zero

04-26-2012 11:32 AM in reply to: itbemedg

You *can* set the workspace to save automatically but I would recommend against it.  If for any reason there is a change (e.g. AutoCAD can't find a previously loaded partial CUIx file) the workspace will save in the new configuration which may not be what you want.  I've found it best to explicitly tell AutoCAD "Yes, this is the UI configuration I want." especially when something messes up.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Active Contributor
bluebrad60
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 7 of 7 (1,243 Views)

Re: How to permanently set NAVCUBEDISPLAY and NAVBARDISPLAY to zero

04-26-2012 03:14 PM in reply to: calvindale

On the other hand...You could edit your default drawing template....turn off the navcube and navbar...resave the template..and Bobs's your uncle. just a thought.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.