Did you mean: 

How to manage XREF into a architectural project

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
mazh045
387 Views, 1 Reply

How to manage XREF into a architectural project

Hello eveyone,

I'm a student and I've found a job in a firm. The problem I've encounted comes when managing commercial projects while the drawing process on autocad. The technic they taught me is just very bad. They don't really use xref, and they think that using it is complicated and a waste of time when it comes to manage it.

At shcool, I've learned so far to separate my drawing sheet. For example I could have few xref that looks like this:

x_base (which contain rough but clean existing conditions redrawn from a sketch or whatever)

x_base is xref'd in my Existing conditions and demolition

Then, existing cond. and demo. is xref'd into my Presentation Plan which is xref'd into my plantation, hardscape and implantation plans. 

So I was asking myself is I was right in the process?

If I'm right, I'd for example have a plantation's plan whith my xref'd presentation plan maybe with some layers off, containing my plants, trees and shrubs into the models. But would it be better to redraw entirely (or copying) my drawing? What happen when it comes the time to share your .dwg with another firm? Will you really give it the original file with the reference? Should I redraw entirely? I just don't know yet.