AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
Jason.Piercey
Posts: 1,183
Registered: ‎04-04-2001
Message 1 of 41 (34,890 Views)

How To Install AutoCAD 2014 WITHOUT Autodesk 360

34890 Views, 40 Replies
04-15-2013 06:54 AM

As a few of you have already noticed, the installer for AutoCAD 2014 is broken, as is the uninstaller for Autodesk 360.  You can do a custom install and UNCHECK Autodesk 360 but it gets installed anyway.  Then when you uninstall Autodesk 360 via the control panel it causes issues with the properties palette in 2013 (if you have it installed) and 2014.  These palettes appear blank and non-functional.

 

If you've found yourself in this boat, the current fix is to uninstall 2013/2014 and reinstall to get either/both of them working again.  Doing a repair install does nothing to fix the issue.

 

If you are about to install 2014 for the first time and do not want Autodesk 360 installed you can do the following.  Thanks goes to Mike Burke for this work-around.

 

There is a simple edit in the setup.ini file (or the deployment ini file if you create deployments) that is needed to stop Autodesk 360 from installing.

 

In the setup.ini file look for the following line
POSTREQUISITE=ACAD_PSPACK;ADSYNC;ACADSKETCHUPIMPORT

 

Remove ADSYNC; from that line so you are left with:
POSTREQUISITE=ACAD_PSPACK;ACADSKETCHUPIMPORT

 

And that’s it. Autodesk 360 will not install when you use setup.exe.

 

 

An additional tip from Darren Young

 

Also note, if you want both options, copy setup.exe and setup.ini to setup-no360.exe and setup-no360.ini and edit that one.  Setup.exe will use the ini of the same name so you could have multiple versions available for install without constantly editing the ini file.

 

Hope this saves some frustration and down time for others.

Active Contributor
JGAo1
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎05-04-2006
Message 2 of 41 (34,825 Views)

Re: How To Install AutoCAD 2014 WITHOUT Autodesk 360

04-15-2013 12:55 PM in reply to: Jason.Piercey

Thanks for the tip. I thought I omitted 360 before installing (the company firewall blocks it), but I put it down to old age!

JGA
Valued Contributor
Darylt
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎11-25-2012
Message 3 of 41 (34,382 Views)

Re: How To Install AutoCAD 2014 WITHOUT Autodesk 360

04-28-2013 03:24 AM in reply to: JGAo1

Where do I find this Setup.ini file so that I can edit?  A360 is causing error messages with windows explorer.

 

Many thanks for help,

 

Daryl

Valued Contributor
Darylt
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎11-25-2012
Message 4 of 41 (34,373 Views)

Re: How To Install AutoCAD 2014 WITHOUT Autodesk 360

04-28-2013 03:58 AM in reply to: Darylt

Update: Found the file and managed to install Autocad LT 2014 without A360. Lets hope that my issue with Windows explorer error message will now dissapear!

 

Would wish to use A360 in the future but will not touch it until Adesk undertake further testing and find the bug that is causing so much problems for many users.

Distinguished Contributor
RFUSE
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎04-23-2009
Message 5 of 41 (34,348 Views)

Re: How To Install AutoCAD 2014 WITHOUT Autodesk 360

04-28-2013 12:10 PM in reply to: Jason.Piercey

I have the DVD, how can I do this?

 

I have no use for 360.

 

Thanks,

 

R

Valued Contributor
Darylt
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎11-25-2012
Message 6 of 41 (34,345 Views)

Re: How To Install AutoCAD 2014 WITHOUT Autodesk 360

04-28-2013 12:33 PM in reply to: Jason.Piercey

As per post 1 - you will find the setup.ini file on your disk (one is setup.exe and the other is setup.ini). Open the setup.ini file (usually opens in wordpad) and find the above line entry and edit (save the document when you leave the file). Now install the software and dont forget to untick A360 in customs option of install.

 

Best of luck,

 

Daryl

Distinguished Contributor
RFUSE
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎04-23-2009
Message 7 of 41 (34,340 Views)

Re: How To Install AutoCAD 2014 WITHOUT Autodesk 360

04-28-2013 01:39 PM in reply to: Darylt

Daryl,

 

I did not download from Autodesk, I received the DVD's.  One cannot change a file on the DVD.

 

Thanks,

 

R

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,070
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 41 (34,336 Views)

Re: How To Install AutoCAD 2014 WITHOUT Autodesk 360

04-28-2013 02:00 PM in reply to: RFUSE

Hi,

 

>> One cannot change a file on the DVD.

You can copy the content from your DVD to a local temp folder, there you can modify the files and install from that position.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
RFUSE
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎04-23-2009
Message 9 of 41 (34,327 Views)

Re: How To Install AutoCAD 2014 WITHOUT Autodesk 360

04-28-2013 02:14 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA
Terrific, didn't realize Autodesk allowed that.


THANKS,

R
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,367
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 10 of 41 (34,311 Views)

Re: How To Install AutoCAD 2014 WITHOUT Autodesk 360

04-28-2013 05:40 PM in reply to: RFUSE

Whether download or from disk/thumbdrive, I always drop a copy of the installer on our network.  Even if something goes *really* wrong (somone borrows disc and leaves it on coffee cup warmer, office fire, etc.), I can always grab the installer from archives.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.