AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
New Member
gareld
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
Message 1 of 3 (965 Views)

how to find volume using line area and elevation in cad 2013

965 Views, 2 Replies
09-26-2012 10:41 AM

I made a lake using lines set at different elevations to show depth, is there a way to calculate the volume of the lake in AutoCAD 2013 from just the line elevations and area without having to make the lines a solid surface

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,301
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 3 (956 Views)

Re: how to find volume using line area and elevation in cad 2013

09-26-2012 11:16 AM in reply to: gareld

For rough estimate, loft bottom and top, MASSPROP command

or use C3D

Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 3 of 3 (943 Views)

Re: how to find volume using line area and elevation in cad 2013

09-26-2012 01:21 PM in reply to: gareld

The volume is roughly 17,250 cubic units.  This was calculated inside plain AutoCAD directly from the drawing geometry using the MapWorks Surfaces add-on.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!