AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jz4all
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎02-24-2009
Message 1 of 6 (280 Views)
Accepted Solution

How to bring jpeg logo on machine in 3D AutoCAD?

280 Views, 5 Replies
01-27-2013 11:59 PM

hi,

In 3D drawing, how can I bring (or paste) a logo (JPEG format) on equipment .  For instance logo of a company on a machine. How to do that in AutoCAD not Inventor.

 

Thanks

Hi,

 

You can use command _IMAGE (looks similar to _XREF) and place the image within your drawing.

You can use the _RENDER-functionality, in that case create a meterial using that logo-image as texture map (maybe as bump map too) and assign that material to the logo-plate in your 3D-geometry.

 

- alfred -

Hi Jaf,

Have you tried creating a new material as suggested?

http://exchange.autodesk.com/autocad/enu/online-help/browse#WS1a9193826455f5ff-316fd70e123dece8002-542a.htm

 

Cheers,

Luciane

 

Luciane Conceição
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,608
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 6 (275 Views)

Re: How to bring jpeg logo on machine in 3D AutoCAD?

01-28-2013 12:52 AM in reply to: jz4all

Hi,

 

You can use command _IMAGE (looks similar to _XREF) and place the image within your drawing.

You can use the _RENDER-functionality, in that case create a meterial using that logo-image as texture map (maybe as bump map too) and assign that material to the logo-plate in your 3D-geometry.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
jz4all
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎02-24-2009
Message 3 of 6 (233 Views)

Re: How to bring jpeg logo on machine in 3D AutoCAD?

01-29-2013 04:54 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Hi

 

Thank you for your response.
I tried but it doesn't work. the image stays separate from the equipment.In Inventor it is easyer (or because I don't know how to do it in AutoCAD) and the logo image becomes part of the equipment, even it follows the topography or profile of the equipment.
I'll be greatful if you know in steps how to do it in AutoCAD.

 

Jaf

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,608
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 6 (222 Views)

Re: How to bring jpeg logo on machine in 3D AutoCAD?

01-29-2013 07:29 AM in reply to: jz4all

Hi,

 

>> the image stays separate from the equipment

Do you mean that if you move your model then your image should move too?
It does ... if you use the way with material and mapping

it does not if you use the way with command _IMAGE, then you have to move the image if you move the model (or you create a block that contains model and image).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 5 of 6 (205 Views)

Re: How to bring jpeg logo on machine in 3D AutoCAD?

01-30-2013 06:34 AM in reply to: jz4all

Hi Jaf,

Have you tried creating a new material as suggested?

http://exchange.autodesk.com/autocad/enu/online-help/browse#WS1a9193826455f5ff-316fd70e123dece8002-5...

 

Cheers,

Luciane

 

Luciane Conceição
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
jz4all
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎02-24-2009
Message 6 of 6 (188 Views)

Re: How to bring jpeg logo on machine in 3D AutoCAD?

01-31-2013 04:52 AM in reply to: jz4all

Thanks a lot.

 

Jaf

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.