Community
AutoCAD Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I efficiently navigate around a 3D pointcloud?

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
jchesley
197 Views, 1 Reply

How can I efficiently navigate around a 3D pointcloud?

Hello,

I have a two fairly simple questions.  I am new to AutoCAD so pardon my lack of knowledge.  

1) How can you quickly switch between different modes of navigation while working with a pointcloud?

I've been watching a few tutorials online and it seems like they all seemlessly navigate around their point clouds with no problem.  However when I am navigating around a pointcloud I constantly have to keep switching between orbit and my cursor.  The only way I know how to do this is by clicking on the navigator toolbox and clicking on the orbit icon, but there must be a faster way to switch between the two. 

2) How can I make it so the focal point in 3D orbit isn't fixed on my pointcloud after the first time I click on it?

I occasionaly run into a situation when I'll switch to 3D orbit the focal point is fixed in one spot on the pointcloud and I won't be able to change it. After spending some time trying to figure out how to make it so the focal point changes when I click on a different area in the point cloud I end up giving up after many unsuccessful attempts.  Then at some point I must hit or do something by accident, because I'll switch back to 3D orbit and the focal point will change everytime I click on a different point in the pointcloud. 

Thank you in advance for your help!

Cheers,

John

1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
Alfred.NESWADBA
in reply to: jchesley

Hi,

Add 1)

using <SHIFT> <MIDDLE MOUSE BUTTON> start's the orbit directly in transparent mode, no need to click into the menu to start it.

Add 2)

>> How can I make it so the focal point in 3D orbit isn't fixed