AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Contributor
lfried
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 11 of 32 (1,248 Views)

Re: freezes every few seconds, not hardware problem it seems

09-17-2012 07:56 AM in reply to: pendean

A reinstall of Windows is pretty well out of the question right now.

 

So, it wasn't there before, switched harddrives, it's there. Then switched back to original turntable harddrive, still there.

 

Is there something network-wise that sticks out that could cause this problem?

 

We've disabled virus protection, it didn't fix it.

Valued Contributor
Jim_Earle
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎11-14-2007
Message 12 of 32 (1,239 Views)

Re: freezes every few seconds, not hardware problem it seems

09-17-2012 10:22 AM in reply to: nickwalt10

My autocad did the same thing. I had to disable my 'sync settings with the cloud' setting and uncheck all the autodesk 360 options in the tools. After that I did not have the problem again. I tried it again today to see if the new service pack fixed any of the errors I use to get and it did not. I still get all the sync errors and the freezing. Might be worth a shot to try.

Active Contributor
lfried
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 13 of 32 (1,231 Views)

Re: freezes every few seconds, not hardware problem it seems

09-17-2012 02:51 PM in reply to: Jim_Earle

I have disabled every sync setting I can find, to no avail.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,448
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 14 of 32 (1,210 Views)

Re: freezes every few seconds, not hardware problem it seems

09-18-2012 05:47 AM in reply to: lfried

Does the "freeze' interval coincide with your Autosave settings?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
michaelrouse4488
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎10-12-2007
Message 15 of 32 (1,208 Views)

Re: freezes every few seconds, not hardware problem it seems

09-18-2012 07:09 AM in reply to: pendean

No, we checked and our autosave is setup for every 10 minutes, while the freezes happen every 30 to 45 seconds. They last around 5 to 10 seconds.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,448
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 16 of 32 (1,204 Views)

Re: freezes every few seconds, not hardware problem it seems

09-18-2012 07:14 AM in reply to: michaelrouse4488

Are your files saved locally, or an a centralized drive? method of connection to that drive?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
lfried
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 17 of 32 (1,201 Views)

Re: freezes every few seconds, not hardware problem it seems

09-18-2012 07:36 AM in reply to: pendean

We've tried both local and network saved drawings. It doesn't appear to have an effect one way or the other.

Valued Contributor
knmdk
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
Message 18 of 32 (1,179 Views)

Re: freezes every few seconds, not hardware problem it seems

09-27-2012 05:20 AM in reply to: nickwalt10

I'm experiencing some freezing of AutoCAD 2013 as well. Luckily it occures only once in 20 minutes. I'm running a fresh installation of Windows 7 64-bit and on a SSD. Freezing usually appeares when I'm starting some command (like edit Mtext or drag line point).

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,448
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 19 of 32 (1,176 Views)

Re: freezes every few seconds, not hardware problem it seems

09-27-2012 05:24 AM in reply to: lfried

Start a new file. Not from a template.

Draw a few items.

Save it.

Draw a few more items.

SAve it again.

Slow? Freezes?

 

Repeat the process, but from a standard template you all use.

 

Repeat the process using a current "problem" file as the template.

 

Which one is the problem trigger? Or is it all three?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
lfried
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 20 of 32 (1,167 Views)

Re: freezes every few seconds, not hardware problem it seems

09-27-2012 07:25 AM in reply to: knmdk

Have you checked your AutoSave interval?

 

Our fix, so far, was a combination of things done on the network and servers since it started around Patch Tuesday. Exactly what was done, we don't know.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.