Fillet won't work for some reason...

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
Anonymous
3782 Views, 9 Replies

Fillet won't work for some reason...

Hello, 

I am trying to soften the edges on a six sided dice. When I draw the lines on the egdes and try to apply the fillet tool, it resets itself after I select the second line and it keeps repeating over and over again. I am new to 3D modelling, I already had a good 3D model of the dice and wanted to improve it, but I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I even try selecting different edges, beginning from the left one and moving to the top one and vice verca, but I can never seem to select 2 lines to apply the fillet.

Thanks,

Catherine

Tags (2)
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
JDMather
in reply to: Anonymous

@Anonymous wrote:
.... When I draw the lines on the edges .....

I am not sure what you mean by "draw the lines" - you should not need to draw any lines, you should simply selecting edges.

Can you attach your file here?

Do you have a 3D solid body?

Your screen shot indicates your Radius is zero?

Radius.png

It would be easiest to do the cube in an isometric wireframe visual style.

wireframe.png

The first pick I would do on an edge, then you should be prompted to enter your desired radius and then prompted to select additional edges.

Once you have selected all of the edges hit Enter, then go to a shaded visual style.

Completed Fillets.png

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 10
Dave_S

Try working in an orthogonal view 3d wireframe. Use the Chain option as much as you can to go around the edges of each plane (start fillet command for each face) as far as you can go, then just fillet the last edge separately.

Message 4 of 10
Anonymous
in reply to: JDMather

Hi,