AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
taneum
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎01-07-2005
Message 1 of 10 (226 Views)

File Sharing Between Autodesk Products............

226 Views, 9 Replies
12-06-2012 10:40 AM

We are dabbling in the 3D world at our office here.  We are a civil engineering frim and take on pretty much anything.  I am finding that part manufactures 3d models may be created in Revit or Solidworks.  Obviously, we are not going to purchase these pieces of software just so we can convert file formats.  Does anyone know of any file conversion software out there?  I downloaded a trial version of Revit but in 30 days I am out of luck.  Whats the best way to be able to open diferent types of files for our use?

 

I love the fact that part manufacturers want you to buy their product but wont share files with you so you can disply their product.  Kinda counter-productive isn;t it?

 

Michael

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,508
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 10 (213 Views)

Re: File Sharing Between Autodesk Products............

12-06-2012 11:32 AM in reply to: taneum

What do you want to convert the Solidworks and/or Revit models to?

 

You might check this out: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/index?id=20884205&siteID=123112

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,469
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 10 (206 Views)

Re: File Sharing Between Autodesk Products............

12-06-2012 12:03 PM in reply to: taneum

Why you are waiting for Fusion 360, AutoCAD 2013 will import SWx files

 

Import SWx.png

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
taneum
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎01-07-2005
Message 4 of 10 (198 Views)

Re: File Sharing Between Autodesk Products............

12-06-2012 12:14 PM in reply to: JDMather

In Civil 3D 2013 I do not have all of those file type options.  How do you have them and I dont?

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,469
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 10 (184 Views)

Re: File Sharing Between Autodesk Products............

12-06-2012 01:23 PM in reply to: taneum

Run Civil 3D as vanilla AutoCAD.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
taneum
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎01-07-2005
Message 6 of 10 (181 Views)

Re: File Sharing Between Autodesk Products............

12-06-2012 01:25 PM in reply to: JDMather

How do I do that?  Civil 3D came with an Icon to use "Civil 3D as AutoCAD", but Civil 3D still runs.

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,508
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 10 (180 Views)

Re: File Sharing Between Autodesk Products............

12-06-2012 01:26 PM in reply to: taneum

taneum wrote:

In Civil 3D 2013 I do not have all of those file type options.  How do you have them and I dont?


See this thread for a similar conversation on AutoCAD vs. Civil 3D

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2013/Importing-Solidworks-SLDPRT-and-SLDASM-Files/td-p/3403043

 

 

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,508
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 10 (165 Views)

Re: File Sharing Between Autodesk Products............

12-06-2012 02:14 PM in reply to: JDMather

JDMather wrote:

Run Civil 3D as vanilla AutoCAD.


Doesn't work.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,469
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 9 of 10 (163 Views)

Re: File Sharing Between Autodesk Products............

12-06-2012 02:17 PM in reply to: taneum

taneum wrote:

How do I do that?  Civil 3D came with an Icon to use "Civil 3D as AutoCAD", but Civil 3D still runs.


You might have to set up the desktop icon properly (and Profile after starting).

C3D as vanilla.png

 

See this thread as well.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2013/AUTOCAD-2013-OPENS-AS-AUTOCAD-MECHANICAL-ALL-OF-A-SUDDEN/...

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,506
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 10 of 10 (144 Views)

Re: File Sharing Between Autodesk Products............

12-06-2012 04:10 PM in reply to: taneum

They try to be compatible, but there's only so much that can be done without turning another product into a wigged out version of the original software.  A lot of Revit products wouldn't have much practical use elsewhere, same thing with Inventor or SolidWorks parts.  And for every alternate format there's a lot of work to keep everything up-to-date, so they pick the one with the best combination of effort and distribution.  Some of the companies keep good relations and will provide custom-converted objects in SAT, STL, or other more universal formats if asked nicely.

 

It *might* be to your advantage to look into a single license for one of the Suite products, especially the Revit LT Suite.  You get a single license for a boatload of products for not much more than the most expensive one of the lot.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.