AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Tag-Along
Message 1 of 9 (1,760 Views)

Failed Uninstall of AutoCAD MEP 2013

1760 Views, 8 Replies
07-30-2012 12:11 PM

OK, so this is my very first post in this forum...but this is my last option.

I have been working for an electrical company for a few years and they finally got the permission to allow me to install AutoCAD on my home PC so I can work from home if need be.

My husband received a fairly new computer with Windows 7 (64 bit) from an elderly family member that passed away.  The current computer we have is running on XP.  I decided it was best to install it on the "new" computer.  I uninstalled some games and some printer drivers to clean it up a little bit.

So, I installed AutoCAD MEP 2013 and everything seemed to go fine and the program opened with no problems. Well about a week later I had trouble with accessing the internet. I only messed with a few things (which I obviously can't remember what it was....something with that darn hidden Applications Data folder). And now AutoCAD won't open. I put the disk in to reload by using the Repair/Reinstall option. Sadly, I got the message "Failed to get allied products" and it closed everything out. I also tried to do an Uninstall using the disc and using Windows Add/Remove Hardware option and I got the same message.

Now, I've asked the IT guy here at my work about this and he was telling me to try a bunch of things which I have already tried. His last suggestion is to either try to manually uninstall it myself (which I'm not comfortable doing) or do a clean reinstall of Windows 7 (which I will have to get a disc for since this computer was given to me).  I have also tried to do a system restore and it won’t eliminate AutoCAD either.

Any suggestions?

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Message 2 of 9 (1,753 Views)

Re: Failed Uninstall of AutoCAD MEP 2013

07-30-2012 12:26 PM in reply to: Tag-Along