AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Member
erickench
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Message 1 of 10 (3,527 Views)

Extend/Edge Command

3527 Views, 9 Replies
04-27-2012 01:48 PM

Hi, I'm new to this forum and I've been practing my autocad and I'm having a problem comprehending the Edge option in the Extend command. I have tried using both options i.e. "extend" and "no extend" and I don't see any difference. What is the purpose of the edge command and it's two options? Does anyone have a tutorial video or a diagram to share because I still can't make heads or tails out of the diagrams and help instructions available.

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,434
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 10 (3,524 Views)

Re: Extend/Edge Command

04-27-2012 01:58 PM in reply to: erickench

Before going any further here, have you read the HELP file on EXTEND

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,262
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 3 of 10 (3,523 Views)

Re: Extend/Edge Command

04-27-2012 01:59 PM in reply to: erickench

It has to to with EDGEMODE (1 or 0) it will extend to where it intersect.

Member
erickench
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Message 4 of 10 (3,508 Views)

Re: Extend/Edge Command

04-27-2012 02:50 PM in reply to: erickench

Yes I read the help file and I still do not understand it. I need a better demonstration than what the Help file provides

Member
erickench
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Message 5 of 10 (3,507 Views)

Re: Extend/Edge Command

04-27-2012 02:51 PM in reply to: Patchy

Yes I tried both ways in Edgemode(0 or 1) and I don't see any difference.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,262
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 6 of 10 (3,505 Views)

Re: Extend/Edge Command

04-27-2012 03:42 PM in reply to: erickench

When you answer to "extend" and "no extend"  that is when it changes the edgemode variable.

Then when you try to extend an arc, line.... if you hit the ENTER key twice, it will find the edge of the next entity.

 

You can watch these clips to see what edgemode does.

Distinguished Contributor lai
Distinguished Contributor
lai
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎08-15-2011
Message 7 of 10 (3,483 Views)

Re: Extend/Edge Command

04-27-2012 08:59 PM in reply to: erickench

When the edge mode is on, then mean that the line you wish to extend can be extend to any line that it can be pass along the way.

Valued Contributor
cnewton
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎10-02-2007
Message 8 of 10 (3,437 Views)

Re: Extend/Edge Command

05-24-2012 12:37 PM in reply to: rkmcswain

Have you read the help file? Help is the worst method for learning about autocad. If I were to base my buying of software based on documentation, Autodesk would be the last product in the world I would buy.

 

 

Clint Newton III
Project Manager

Spillman Farmer Architects
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,434
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 10 (3,420 Views)

Re: Extend/Edge Command

05-24-2012 01:22 PM in reply to: cnewton

cnewton wrote:

Have you read the help file? 

 


In this case, based on the specific question from the OP, that was an appropriate reply. The HELP file entry for the EXTEND command clearly describes the difference between using "extend" and "no extend", while also including illustrations.

Valued Contributor
bobafuka
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎06-01-2009
Message 10 of 10 (237 Views)

Re: Extend/Edge Command

08-13-2014 01:09 AM in reply to: rkmcswain
I know this post is old but......

With all due respect, the Autodesk Autocad Help files are pretty ambiguous. Consider myself a professional operator but most of it is pretty useless when it comes to the nitty gritty.
Regards,

Boba Fuka
Big Booty Bounty Hunter
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.