AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
XlhHarley
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎07-18-2007
Message 1 of 11 (311 Views)

Exporting Arcs and Circles

311 Views, 10 Replies
12-05-2012 09:03 AM

Help-

 

I am exporting to Adobe and AplhaCam,  when ever I send

DXF or DWG files, the Circles or arcs are segmented.

 

How do I make not so segmented?

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,607
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 11 (309 Views)

Re: Exporting Arcs and Circles

12-05-2012 09:07 AM in reply to: XlhHarley

Hi,

 

what command do you use to "export to Adobe" and what command for "export to AlphaCam"?

Or do you use a tool or application for that?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
XlhHarley
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎07-18-2007
Message 3 of 11 (305 Views)

Re: Exporting Arcs and Circles

12-05-2012 09:11 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

forgot to mention

 

All I do is save down to Autocad 2007. (dwg or DXF)

 

. Both Adobe and  Alphacam tell me its a setting inisde autocad

**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,757
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 4 of 11 (293 Views)

Re: Exporting Arcs and Circles

12-05-2012 10:22 AM in reply to: XlhHarley

Try VIEWRES command.  Set it to the highest value.  (See VIEWRES in Help for more info.)

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,607
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 11 (288 Views)

Re: Exporting Arcs and Circles

12-05-2012 10:30 AM in reply to: XlhHarley

Hi,

 

>> All I do is save down to Autocad 2007

In that case the files have arcs and circles, nothing in it is segmented. So if you open that files with AutoCAD it maybe it's necessary to regenerate (command _REGEN), but that is just the display. As dmfrazier mentioned, the VIEWRES-variable controls how fine AutoCAD does the segmentation on dispay before it starts the regen itself.

 

If you open the DXF in any other software, then be sure that within the DXF nothing is segmented.#

The question now is: why do you think that the segmentation comes from this file?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
XlhHarley
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎07-18-2007
Message 6 of 11 (286 Views)

Re: Exporting Arcs and Circles

12-05-2012 10:39 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I have sent the dim res over to the Alphacam to see what happens

 

To answer the question on why I think it is an Auotcad setting..

 

I am assuming that it treats the export very similar if not the sample as a plt (hpgl/2) file.. It doesnt actually tell the plotter to draw an arc, but to draw very small line segments to create the arc..

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,607
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 7 of 11 (271 Views)

Re: Exporting Arcs and Circles

12-05-2012 12:01 PM in reply to: XlhHarley

Hi,

 

Now you tell us:

>> I am assuming that it treats the export very similar if not the sample as a plt (hpgl/2) file..

>> It doesnt actually tell the plotter to draw an arc, but to draw very small line segments to create the arc.

And before you mentioned:

>> All I do is save down to Autocad 2007. (dwg or DXF)

 

Please let us know what you really did (in AutoCAD), what commands did you use .... plus what makes you thinking that AutoCAD stores arcs or circles segmented.

At the moment I don't understand anything of what happend. animierte smilies traurig trauern weinen

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
XlhHarley
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎07-18-2007
Message 8 of 11 (268 Views)

Re: Exporting Arcs and Circles

12-05-2012 12:18 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

All I do is save down to Autocad 2007 both dxf and dwg

 

I am assuming that the "other" programs read the files the same way Autocad create the file for the plotters read an HPGL/2 file,

 

Not as an actual circle or arc but a series of small single lines

Product Support
bryce.thelin
Posts: 426
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Message 9 of 11 (241 Views)

Re: Exporting Arcs and Circles

12-07-2012 04:02 PM in reply to: XlhHarley

Here's the test I ran using AutoCAD 2013 and Acrobat 9 Pro on Windows 7 64-bit:

 

  1. Create new drawing in AutoCAD. Draw circle in model space.
  2. SAVEAS to 2007 DWG format and then close the drawing.
  3. In Acrobat, choose File > Create PDF > From File, and pick the circle DWG.
  4. Click OK on the PDF settings window that pops up.

 

The resulting PDF in Acrobat shows a smooth circle. It looked like an ellipse until I figured out I needed to rotate the 3D axis correctly.

Is this close to what you do? All my settings in AutoCAD are at defaults. I got the same good result with a 2007 DXF too.



Bryce Thelin
Product Support
bryce.thelin
Posts: 426
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Message 10 of 11 (217 Views)

Re: Exporting Arcs and Circles

12-10-2012 09:51 AM in reply to: XlhHarley

I wanted to follow up with you on this discussion thread. Was I close to what you do with my listed steps? Were you able to figure out what the problem was?



Bryce Thelin
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.