AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

sgdunn
Message 1 of 6 (1,638 Views)
Accepted Solution

Explode a block only

1638 Views, 5 Replies
03-28-2013 01:03 PM

I have a situation where I have a drawing with 3D faces creating the Chassis of a desk, and the top and pulls were inserted from other drawings and are blocks.  There are numerous drawings with this scenario and I am looking for a way to explode the blocks ONLY in the drawings without exploding the 3D faces as well.  Then we'd like to purge the drawing of the nested blocks before saving it.

I'm not a programmer so any help would be greatly appreciated.

I've attached a sample of one of the files in question.  I'm hoping there is a solution that doesn't require us to open each drawing individually as there are hundreds of them...if not thousands.  We didn't catch this 'mistake' until today and have created many, many product lines (started in November) with this issue.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Valued Contributor
qupola
Message 2 of 6 (1,596 Views)

Re: Explode a block only

03-28-2013 06:30 PM in reply to: sgdunn

Not the answer, but maybe this will help:

3dfaces don't explode.  The standard autocad Explode command will leave any it finds in your selection set intact.  3dfaces that have been turned into regions will explode though.

You can use either the QSELECT or the FILTER command to grab only the blocks in a drawing.  Then you can process them in each drawing as you see fit.

To process hundreds of files, unless there's a canned 3rd party solution out there for you, I'd say your best bet would be to look into autocad scripts.  Scripts may be written to open a file, run a bunch of autocad commands from the command line, close the file, and then move on to the next file and repeat.  They are among the easiest forms of Autocad programming to learn and put to work.