AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Contributor
nmetzger
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎08-24-2012
Message 1 of 7 (4,585 Views)

Error Code 1603 during update installation

4585 Views, 6 Replies
10-25-2012 05:19 AM

Hey guys, I had a message this morning for an update in my CAD 2013. When I tried to install, I received an ERROR CODE 1603. I searched what the code is for and was directed to a site that said I needed to uninstall Service Pack 1.1 is this true? Since I upgraded to the 2013 Inventor Suite I have been having trouble receiving drawings from other companies. Everytime I try to open a drawing created by someone else, I get a message that says the "file is read only do I still want to open it?" I can open the drawing by clicking ok, but it is annoying. I was hoping the update would clear up this issue. Anyone have any ideas? Or know if I truly need to uninstall the service pack?

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,244
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 7 (4,580 Views)

Re: Error Code 1603 during update installation

10-25-2012 05:23 AM in reply to: nmetzger

Select a file in Windows Explorer, right-click, and select PROPERTIES: is it tagged as read-only?

Is the file in a folder you do not have read-write access to?

Are you in a limited Windows User Acount?

 

The update is not the fix since the program is not the problem.

 

For installation help with your 1603 error, post here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/bd-p/24

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
JanneZack
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-29-2013
Message 3 of 7 (3,877 Views)

Re: Error Code 1603 during update installation

01-30-2013 09:33 AM in reply to: pendean

I have already tried this route.  I am the administrator and I have permission to do anything to my computer, but ALL DWG  files I try to open with 2013 tell me that they are read only.  I open them and "SAVE AS" and delete the old file.  It's a pain in the tookas, but it's the only way I can figure out how to get around it.

 

I too get "ERROR code 1603 while trying to INSTAL the 1.1 update.  Want to curse, but won't.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,244
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 7 (3,857 Views)

Re: Error Code 1603 during update installation

01-30-2013 02:33 PM in reply to: JanneZack

Search this forum for error 1603 messages during installation:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/bd-p/24

If you can't what you need, consider posting there (note your Windows version) while you wait here.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,001
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 5 of 7 (3,846 Views)

Re: Error Code 1603 during update installation

01-31-2013 01:26 AM in reply to: pendean

 

Hello

 

With Vista/Seven, sometimes the result in better, when you select the EXE file,

then Right Clic then "Run as Administrator"  !

 

Even if you have already logged as an Admin !!

 

Bye, Patrice

 

Bye, Pat

New Member
gcouture
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
Message 6 of 7 (3,573 Views)

Re: Error Code 1603 during update installation

02-19-2013 01:41 PM in reply to: nmetzger

The problem with this installation is this; Click Product Update Available to launch the default browser.

Before you click on the Update button, remember to close your AutoCAD Electrical 2013 first. I took this advice with AutoCad 2013 and it worked, good luck!

New Member
vtoma
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-05-2008
Message 7 of 7 (2,034 Views)

Re: Error Code 1603 during update installation

08-02-2013 11:37 AM in reply to: nmetzger

What worked at our company was a simple reboot and then installing from a saved location - we saved the hotfix to our desktops first.

 

Hope this helps!

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.