AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Contributor
24 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-24-2012
Post 1 of 7

Error Code 1603 during update installation

4860 Views, 6 Replies
10-25-2012 05:19 AM

Hey guys, I had a message this morning for an update in my CAD 2013. When I tried to install, I received an ERROR CODE 1603. I searched what the code is for and was directed to a site that said I needed to uninstall Service Pack 1.1 is this true? Since I upgraded to the 2013 Inventor Suite I have been having trouble receiving drawings from other companies. Everytime I try to open a drawing created by someone else, I get a message that says the "file is read only do I still want to open it?" I can open the drawing by clicking ok, but it is annoying. I was hoping the update would clear up this issue. Anyone have any ideas? Or know if I truly need to uninstall the service pack?

*Expert Elite*
24,217 Posts
1,593 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Post 2 of 7

Re: Error Code 1603 during update installation

10-25-2012 05:23 AM in reply to: nmetzger

Select a file in Windows Explorer, right-click, and select PROPERTIES: is it tagged as read-only?

Is the file in a folder you do not have read-write access to?

Are you in a limited Windows User Acount?

 

The update is not the fix since the program is not the problem.

 

For installation help with your 1603 error, post here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/bd-p/24

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
7 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-29-2013
Post 3 of 7

Re: Error Code 1603 during update installation

01-30-2013 09:33 AM in reply to: pendean

I have already tried this route.  I am the administrator and I have permission to do anything to my computer, but ALL DWG  files I try to open with 2013 tell me that they are read only.  I open them and "SAVE AS" and delete the old file.  It's a pain in the tookas, but it's the only way I can figure out how to get around it.

 

I too get "ERROR code 1603 while trying to INSTAL the 1.1 update.  Want to curse, but won't.

*Expert Elite*
24,217 Posts
1,593 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Post 4 of 7

Re: Error Code 1603 during update installation

01-30-2013 02:33 PM in reply to: JanneZack

Search this forum for error 1603 messages during installation:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/bd-p/24

If you can't what you need, consider posting there (note your Windows version) while you wait here.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
2,438 Posts
260 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Post 5 of 7

Re: Error Code 1603 during update installation

01-31-2013 01:26 AM in reply to: pendean

 

Hello

 

With Vista/Seven, sometimes the result in better, when you select the EXE file,

then Right Clic then "Run as Administrator"  !

 

Even if you have already logged as an Admin !!

 

Bye, Patrice

 

Bye, Pat ( Supporting Troops )
If you are happy with my answer please mark "Accept as Solution" and if very happy please give me a Kudos (Compliment) - Thanks
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-19-2013
Post 6 of 7

Re: Error Code 1603 during update installation

02-19-2013 01:41 PM in reply to: nmetzger

The problem with this installation is this; Click Product Update Available to launch the default browser.

Before you click on the Update button, remember to close your AutoCAD Electrical 2013 first. I took this advice with AutoCad 2013 and it worked, good luck!

New Member
2 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-05-2008
Post 7 of 7

Re: Error Code 1603 during update installation

08-02-2013 11:37 AM in reply to: nmetzger

What worked at our company was a simple reboot and then installing from a saved location - we saved the hotfix to our desktops first.

 

Hope this helps!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post