AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Mentor
153 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-01-2007
Post 1 of 8
Accepted Solution

Drawing Window issues running under Parallels

1737 Views, 7 Replies
04-08-2013 09:24 PM

Does anyone know if there's a conflict between the UI for teh AutoCAD drawing window and Parallels?  There seems to be a consistent change in mouse behavior when the mouse moves to the AutoCAD drawing window when running AutoCAD ('11, '12, '13, '14) under Parallels (5, 6, & 7).

Since Parallels is now officially supported, I was hoping this glitch would be resolved.  If there isn't a patch, does anyone know of a workaround?

From

http://forum.parallels.com/showthread.php?32596-Poor-mouse-performance-in-AutoCAD/page2

 

Go to Parallels menu 'Virtual machine'
Go to 'configure'
Go to 'options'
Go to ''advanced'
Go to 'smart mouse' and change from 'auto' to 'on'

 

SOLVED!

 

Your mileage may vary.  (But I seem to recall that Parallels drivers combine mouse and display functionality, so it makes sense, i think.)

*Expert Elite*
9,796 Posts
1,210 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Post 2 of 8

Re: Drawing Window issues running under Parallels

04-09-2013 01:03 AM in reply to: CraigGorsuch

Hi,

 

>> Since Parallels is now officially supported

Where did you read that?

 

>> There seems to be a consistent change in mouse behavior

And that is ...?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
24,190 Posts
1,589 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Post 3 of 8

Re: Drawing Window issues running under Parallels

04-09-2013 05:42 AM in reply to: CraigGorsuch

Which Windows version are you running? There have always been mouse issues with your combination, supported or not: try a Google search and explore possible fixes.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Mentor
153 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-01-2007
Post 4 of 8

Re: Drawing Window issues running under Parallels

04-09-2013 02:02 PM in reply to: CraigGorsuch
Same issue under Windows 7x64 and Win8x86

Craig Gorsuch
BIM / CAD Manager
My Revit Videos on YouTube
My AutoCAD Videos on YouTube
[cid:image002.jpg@01CE353B.8D50FA00]972.789.2647 Ofc10670 N Central Expwy
6th Floor
Dallas TX 75231
cgorsuch@aguirreroden.com

The information in this electronic mail message is confidential and may be legally privileged. It is intended solely for the addressee(s) named herein. Access to this electronic message by anyone else is unauthorized.
Mentor
153 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-01-2007
Post 5 of 8

Re: Drawing Window issues running under Parallels

04-09-2013 02:26 PM in reply to: CraigGorsuch

http://usa.autodesk.com/products/mac-compatible-products

The Windows on the Mac section includes AutoCAD, Revit, Inventor, 3DS, and RBS.

 

The mouse behaviour changes by becoming sluggish, and somewhat jerky, when running AutoCAD in my VM.  I'm running Win8 32-bit at the moment, but the same behaviour occurs under Windows 7x64, and Windows XP x86, running AutoCAD 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010 and LT 2002.

 

Maybe it's because AutoCAD has its own window manager, that interacts with the Windows window manager.  Running under VM can only complicate this issue because AutoCAD's window manager is interacting with Windows' window manager, that is working with the Mac OS window manager.

 

Incidentally, when using Synergy as a client on the Mac, and a PC as a Synergy server, the problem is again compounded, when mousing from the PC to the Mac via Synergy and running Windows in the VM.

 

Ultimately, since we're looking at multiple releases of AutoCAD, multiple versions of Windows, multiple releases of Parallels, and multiple versions of Mac OS, narrowing down a "common cause" is the proverbial needle in the haystack.

Mentor
153 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎02-01-2007
Post 6 of 8

Re: Drawing Window issues running under Parallels

04-09-2013 04:15 PM in reply to: CraigGorsuch

From

http://forum.parallels.com/showthread.php?32596-Poor-mouse-performance-in-AutoCAD/page2

 

Go to Parallels menu 'Virtual machine'
Go to 'configure'
Go to 'options'
Go to ''advanced'
Go to 'smart mouse' and change from 'auto' to 'on'

 

SOLVED!

 

Your mileage may vary.  (But I seem to recall that Parallels drivers combine mouse and display functionality, so it makes sense, i think.)

*Expert Elite*
9,796 Posts
1,210 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Post 7 of 8

Re: Drawing Window issues running under Parallels

04-09-2013 11:59 PM in reply to: CraigGorsuch

Hi,

 

thank you for the link pointing out the "AutoCAD supported on Parallels"! I didn't know that.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-14-2014
Post 8 of 8

Re: Drawing Window issues running under Parallels

10-14-2014 01:20 PM in reply to: CraigGorsuch

This is an old thread, but first to pop on a google search

 

ANSWER:

- Start by turning off hardware acceleration in AutoCAD. Little button in the quick tray down lower right...looks like a cpu chip with a lighbulb.

- In the latest version of Parllels (v.10.x.x) you need to go to mouse setting under options and turn SmartMouse to "Don't optimize for games", this solves 90% of the issues.

- get a gamer mouse (ironic considering step 2). These have a way higher DPI and are considerably more accurate. I use a Razer Adder or Death Adder, They're expensive, but worth it.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post