AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Contributor
laurich
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎01-18-2005
Message 11 of 13 (528 Views)

Re: Disappearing viewport?

01-08-2013 01:37 PM in reply to: stevecee

Here is a workaround:

Draw a rectangle over the top of the viewport in paperspace.

Use QUICKSELECT to select only the viewport.

Start the Viewport Clip command (VPCLIP).

It will already have the viewport selected and will prompt you to select the object to clip with.

Select the rectangle.

Voila! You should have a workable viewport.

New Member
stephens
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2013
Message 12 of 13 (510 Views)

Re: Disappearing viewport?

01-15-2013 06:07 PM in reply to: laurich

Ah, I was trying it on a layout with multiple viewports, which doesn't seem to work.

 

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

Valued Mentor
hardin
Posts: 695
Registered: ‎08-30-2007
Message 13 of 13 (501 Views)

Re: Disappearing viewport?

01-17-2013 07:57 AM in reply to: stephens

You can use quick select to select all the viewports, then holding the Shift Key, pick the viewports you want to 'unselect', leaving the phantom viewport for the VPORTCLIP.  Your properties manager dialog box will show how many items are selected, so leave the Properties Manager up and open.  The phantom viewport will not show with grips. You will only know you have it selected by looking at the Properties Manager.  If you have more than one phantom viewport, you're screwed. :-(  You may just have to erase the phantom viewports and re-create them (or the one that you want).

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.