AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Contributor
jrittenhouse
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Message 1 of 16 (529 Views)

Defpoints

529 Views, 15 Replies
11-09-2012 01:44 PM

How do I turn off the defpoints layer so it does not appear when i use the dimension tool while editing a block.  I simply want to turn it off so the layer doesn't appear in the layer manager.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,446
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 16 (507 Views)

Re: Defpoints

11-10-2012 08:03 AM in reply to: jrittenhouse

You can't get rid of 0 or defpoints layer or a few other 'system' layers that come along as you use commands and features that need them.

 

What exactly are you having trouble with? perhaps there is a better fix.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
jrittenhouse
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Message 3 of 16 (472 Views)

Re: Defpoints

11-12-2012 08:52 AM in reply to: pendean

is there a way to prevent the layer from appearing?  the project im working is specific about what layers can or can't be on the dwg.

*Expert Elite*
drjohn
Posts: 1,717
Registered: ‎03-01-2006
Message 4 of 16 (463 Views)

Re: Defpoints

11-12-2012 09:34 AM in reply to: jrittenhouse

Defpoints can be FROZEN or TURNED OFF but as Dean noted it cannot be deleted.

 

Regards,

DJ

 

*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Posts: 1,564
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 5 of 16 (460 Views)

Re: Defpoints

11-12-2012 09:41 AM in reply to: drjohn

That is incorrect.  Defpoints inherits its screen display from layer 0.  The only way to turn off or freeze defpoints is to freeze or turn off layer 0, which is HIGHLY discouraged except for short term changes.

 

Get used to defpoints being on.  Any layer standard that wants it off should be discarded and reworked.  Dimensions depend on defpoints.  Defpoints won't plot so what is the real problem?

*Expert Elite*
drjohn
Posts: 1,717
Registered: ‎03-01-2006
Message 6 of 16 (453 Views)

Re: Defpoints

11-12-2012 10:05 AM in reply to: dbroad

Strange.  Maybe I don't get it.  I can go into LAYER MANAGER and turn off DEFPOINTS  or freeze DEFPOINTS and it doesn't display.  It is still in the LAYER MANAGER but not displayed nor printed yet layer 0 (zero) is still the same as it was before the DEFPOINTS layer was turned off or frozen..

 

I think one of us is thinking reversed.

 

 

Regards,

DJ

 

 

*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Posts: 1,564
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 7 of 16 (438 Views)

Re: Defpoints

11-12-2012 12:17 PM in reply to: drjohn

Defpoints is quirky.  Both of us are right.  Points drawn on layer defpoints take their display color and display from defpoints.  You need to freezeor turn off  layer 0 in order to make points drawn on layer defpoints disappear.  Other objects will recognize the color and display settings of defpoints.

 

Points in dimensions display according to the layer of the dimension.  I have run into exceptions where the dimension layer needed to be frozen to stop the display of the defpoints. (I think).

Valued Mentor
TrevN
Posts: 548
Registered: ‎04-14-2008
Message 8 of 16 (405 Views)

Re: Defpoints

11-14-2012 07:49 AM in reply to: dbroad

Well I never have defpoints layer. I delete it straight away and have never had a problem.

 

(As yes you can delete it using laydel command.)

*Expert Elite*
drjohn
Posts: 1,717
Registered: ‎03-01-2006
Message 9 of 16 (401 Views)

Re: Defpoints

11-14-2012 08:03 AM in reply to: TrevN

You must not use dimensions in your type of work.

 

I can delete Defpoints layer with laydel also. 

 

As soon as I strike a dim it's back again.  I delete it with laydel again and the dims stay associated.  I strike another dim and the defpoints layer is back again .... ad nauseum

 

What's your magic for making it stay gone?

 

Regards,

DJ

 

Valued Mentor
TrevN
Posts: 548
Registered: ‎04-14-2008
Message 10 of 16 (398 Views)

Re: Defpoints

11-14-2012 08:07 AM in reply to: drjohn

No magic!

 

Options setting have all new dims associated.

 

Just delete it when ever it appears, hey presto, gone!

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.