Customization: What to learn

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
kasperwuyts
304 Views, 3 Replies

Customization: What to learn

Hello everyone.

I've been using and learning Autocad for little over a year now, and would like to start actually learning customization. I'm just wondering what would be best for me to learn, considering the long term. My Dutch Autocad manual from 2007 states that LISP is a thing of the past and will dissappear, and I should learn VBA instead because it's a skill you can apply in many different software. My current company uses VBA a lot for customization of Autocad and Solidworks, so I'm already leaning toward learning it. Then again, when I look at the general picture, LISP seems to be still quite popular (at least judging from this board) while VBA seems to be getting sideswept in favor of .NET and it isn't even distributed along with Autocad anymore.  For your information: I am new to programming in general (aside from some VBA I learned over 10 years ago in secondary school). Can anyone give me some advice on this issue?

I'm posting this here because I fear I will get more biased response if I post this in one of the specific customization forums.

Best regards
Kasper Wuyts

Hi,

LISP is a tool for AutoCAD that imho will live a long time more, there are to much tools out there based on LISP in AutoCAD.

The part with VBA is mostly replaced by VB.NET is true, there are always rumors about VBA will not be available with next version of AutoCAD, and until 2013 it was

already hard to work with it as the VBA kernel was 32bit while AutoCAD is more and more running on 64bit and that was the reason of some performance issues. For 2014 and 2015 the VBA part was updated to version 7, that means it was a real 64bit implementation, so the performance issues are solved for this AutoCAD - VBA combination.