AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
chillme1
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 1 of 5 (417 Views)

CUI Customize Causes Crash

417 Views, 4 Replies
06-26-2012 06:05 AM

AutoCAD 2013 crashes each time I attempt to invoke the CUI customize command from the workspace pulldown.

Thanks for your comments,

Clint Hill
Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 483
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 2 of 5 (400 Views)

Re: CUI Customize Causes Crash

06-27-2012 09:01 AM in reply to: chillme1

I believe the CUI command is .NET based, as are most of the functions in ToolPac.  Perhaps your .NET Framework 4 is corrupt and needs to be reinstalled?

Distinguished Contributor
chillme1
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 3 of 5 (398 Views)

Re: CUI Customize Causes Crash

06-27-2012 09:10 AM in reply to: TerryDotson

Having recently re-installed both the previous release of AutoCAD 2012 as well as your excellent ToolPac utilities, I had no such errors nor crashes result from neither the CUI manipulation nor from invoking any ToolPac commands.

 

It appears that there may be other causes that affecting the stability of the 2013 release. 

Thanks for your comments,

Clint Hill
Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 483
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 4 of 5 (393 Views)

Re: CUI Customize Causes Crash

06-27-2012 09:41 AM in reply to: chillme1

Both AutoCAD 2013 and ToolPac 14.1 running on it uses Framework 4 as opposed to previous versions using previous versions of the framework.  So a corrupt Framework 4 wouldn't have affected 2012/TP13, etc.

Distinguished Contributor
chillme1
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 5 of 5 (356 Views)

Re: CUI Customize Causes Crash

07-03-2012 06:53 AM in reply to: TerryDotson

POSSIBLE CAUSE FOR ISSUE:

Prior to installing Product Design Suite  Standard 2013, I realized that the new Visual Studio Beta version was installed and may have contributed to the instability with AutoCAD 2013. I have now uninstalled the VS Beta.

 

I have been encouraged by the timeliness and substances of the responses from Autodesk support staff and other developers and users here.

 

Due to the excellent workarounds and responses given, I am now feeling comfortable enough to re-install AutoCAD 2013 and, as time allows, run the program.

 

However, AutoCAD 2012 and other 2012 products will be used for production purposes at this time.

Thanks for your comments,

Clint Hill
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.