AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
chillme1
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 1 of 5 (442 Views)

CUI Customize Causes Crash

442 Views, 4 Replies
06-26-2012 06:05 AM

AutoCAD 2013 crashes each time I attempt to invoke the CUI customize command from the workspace pulldown.

Thanks for your comments,

Clint Hill
Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 504
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 2 of 5 (425 Views)

Re: CUI Customize Causes Crash

06-27-2012 09:01 AM in reply to: chillme1

I believe the CUI command is .NET based, as are most of the functions in ToolPac.  Perhaps your .NET Framework 4 is corrupt and needs to be reinstalled?

Distinguished Contributor
chillme1
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 3 of 5 (423 Views)

Re: CUI Customize Causes Crash

06-27-2012 09:10 AM in reply to: TerryDotson

Having recently re-installed both the previous release of AutoCAD 2012 as well as your excellent ToolPac utilities, I had no such errors nor crashes result from neither the CUI manipulation nor from invoking any ToolPac commands.

 

It appears that there may be other causes that affecting the stability of the 2013 release. 

Thanks for your comments,

Clint Hill
Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 504
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 4 of 5 (418 Views)

Re: CUI Customize Causes Crash

06-27-2012 09:41 AM in reply to: chillme1

Both AutoCAD 2013 and ToolPac 14.1 running on it uses Framework 4 as opposed to previous versions using previous versions of the framework.  So a corrupt Framework 4 wouldn't have affected 2012/TP13, etc.

Distinguished Contributor
chillme1
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 5 of 5 (381 Views)

Re: CUI Customize Causes Crash

07-03-2012 06:53 AM in reply to: TerryDotson

POSSIBLE CAUSE FOR ISSUE:

Prior to installing Product Design Suite  Standard 2013, I realized that the new Visual Studio Beta version was installed and may have contributed to the instability with AutoCAD 2013. I have now uninstalled the VS Beta.

 

I have been encouraged by the timeliness and substances of the responses from Autodesk support staff and other developers and users here.

 

Due to the excellent workarounds and responses given, I am now feeling comfortable enough to re-install AutoCAD 2013 and, as time allows, run the program.

 

However, AutoCAD 2012 and other 2012 products will be used for production purposes at this time.

Thanks for your comments,

Clint Hill
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!