AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Contributor
pritcad
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-15-2009
Message 1 of 7 (5,134 Views)

can Install NLM and autocad 2013 on virtual server

5134 Views, 6 Replies
09-18-2013 04:41 AM

We installed autocad 2013 network license on server and able to access from client machine. However, we are unable to access license from server itself.

It is virtual server with windows 2008.

 

Regards

Pritam

 

 

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,500
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 7 (5,128 Views)

Re: can Install NLM and autocad 2013 on virtual server

09-18-2013 05:06 AM in reply to: pritcad

pritcad wrote:

We installed autocad 2013 network license on server and able to access from client machine.

 

However, we are unable to access license from server itself.

 

 


Are you saying that the client machines can ping and otherwise communicate with the LM, but AutoCAD will not get a license from there? What error code are you seeing on the client end?

*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,271
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 3 of 7 (5,101 Views)

Re: can Install NLM and autocad 2013 on virtual server

09-18-2013 11:53 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

Hello from France

 

The FlexLM can run on a VMware and ACAD 20xx can run on an other VMWare

 

If the 2 VMWares can communicate and ping themself and if the DNS Server is OK

and if there is no restrictions with a hardware/software Firewall, it must run ...

 

Are all Ports open ?

Especially : 27000-27009 & 27080

 

Bye, Pat

 

Bye, Pat ( Supporting Troops )
If you are happy with my answer please mark "Accept as Solution" and if very happy please give me a Kudos (Compliment) - Thanks
Contributor
pritcad
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-15-2009
Message 4 of 7 (5,082 Views)

Re: can Install NLM and autocad 2013 on virtual server

09-19-2013 02:04 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

We installed autocad 2013 network license on server and able to access from client machine.

 However, we are unable to access license from server itself.

Product Support
inchul.lee
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎09-15-2008
Message 5 of 7 (5,060 Views)

Re: can Install NLM and autocad 2013 on virtual server

09-20-2013 03:20 AM in reply to: pritcad

Hi pritcad,

 

This kind of question is better handled in the Installation & Licensing Forum, but let me provide you some information:

 

First of all, AutoCAD 2013 is supported on the client OS but not the server OS. Please refer to AutoCAD 2013 System Requirements.

 

Secondly, if you're running the License Manager on virtual machines, please refer to 

2014: Network License Manager System Requirements.

 

Thirdly, if AutoCAD 2013 installed on the server itself can't get a license, then first check LICPATH.LIC file in the installation folder (ex. C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2014) and see if it's pointing to the right address (ex. localhost or 127.0.0.1).

 

Thank you.

 



Inchul Lee
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,500
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 7 (5,054 Views)

Re: can Install NLM and autocad 2013 on virtual server

09-20-2013 04:42 AM in reply to: pritcad

pritcad wrote:

We installed autocad 2013 network license on server and able to access from client machine.

However, we are unable to access license from server itself.


 Control Panel > System > Advanced > Environment Variables

Add a System Variable named ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE

Make the value of this variable = the name of your LM preceeded with an "@" sign (for example: @MYLM )

 

env.png

 

More info here: http://cadpanacea.com/node/43

 

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,437
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 7 of 7 (5,034 Views)

Re: can Install NLM and autocad 2013 on virtual server

09-20-2013 11:06 AM in reply to: pritcad

Installation of AutoCAD on your server is not supported and it is a license violation due to the fact that it is potentially possible to access the installation from a remote terminal.  If you wish to provide this sort of service, then you need a supported Citrix solution.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=13959101

 

Good Luck!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.