AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,669
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 11 of 21 (893 Views)

Re: Can I replace the DWG to PDF.pc3 with Adobe's PDF printer for batch plots?

01-07-2013 11:50 AM in reply to: meshleman

Friend, here are your two PDFs side by side, zoomed it to show how they will print to paper: they are identical, using the same Adobe Reader 9 PDF viewer.

Zoomed away, one is fain and the other is not as you note: this does not affect printing, just on-screen display. If I use a different PDF viewer, FOXIT Reader is my alternate, they appear as dark as each other.

 

Is your intent to print to paper, or only publish to PDF (there are no layers included so my guess it's not for editing or commenting)?

What are your DWG to PDF.PC3 file settings in the last tab's output options?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,627
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 12 of 21 (888 Views)

Re: Can I replace the DWG to PDF.pc3 with Adobe's PDF printer for batch plots?

01-07-2013 11:57 AM in reply to: meshleman

It may have to do with Autodesk plotting to Vectors and Adobe plotting to Raster.  Sorry I don't have a better answer for you.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
Active Member
meshleman
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-04-2013
Message 13 of 21 (884 Views)

Re: Can I replace the DWG to PDF.pc3 with Adobe's PDF printer for batch plots?

01-07-2013 12:28 PM in reply to: pendean

My intent is to email the pdf to our client, so the apparent gray really is an issue. It does look like JGerth's suggestion of first printing to DWF and then using the Adobe printer does fix the problem and only adds one extra step, which definitely beats a slew of saves. Just to throw it out there for anyone else having this problem, I also just found another solution similar to JGerth's by opening the faint pdf in Acrobat and 'printing to pdf' with the Adobe printer.

 

I attached a screenshot of my DWG To PDF PC3 setting, just in case there is something that raises a red flag. If there isn't anything that jumps out to anyone right away, I'm satisfied with JGerth's workaround as a solution.

 

Thank you everyone for the input-- I'll be printing this drawing set many more times in the future and this will ultimately save me a huge chunk of time.

*Expert Elite*
GTVic
Posts: 917
Registered: ‎09-07-2004
Message 14 of 21 (856 Views)

Re: Can I replace the DWG to PDF.pc3 with Adobe's PDF printer for batch plots?

01-08-2013 11:23 AM in reply to: meshleman

In your settings screen, change Graphics > Merge Control to Merge instead of Overwrite. That seems to improve things. Merge is a good setting when plotting in black/grey only.

Greg

Active Member
meshleman
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-04-2013
Message 15 of 21 (843 Views)

Re: Can I replace the DWG to PDF.pc3 with Adobe's PDF printer for batch plots?

01-08-2013 02:05 PM in reply to: pendean

Merge does seem to help with the faint lines, but then it produces a strange pixelation in regions where a fill or mask is used (see attached).

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,669
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 16 of 21 (834 Views)

Re: Can I replace the DWG to PDF.pc3 with Adobe's PDF printer for batch plots?

01-08-2013 03:01 PM in reply to: meshleman
That setting has its pluses and minuses sadly.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
GTVic
Posts: 917
Registered: ‎09-07-2004
Message 17 of 21 (832 Views)

Re: Can I replace the DWG to PDF.pc3 with Adobe's PDF printer for batch plots?

01-08-2013 03:14 PM in reply to: meshleman

Too bad, I think creating a good PDF is a bit of an art form :smileyhappy: Maybe try a professional PDF product. I've heard really good things about Bluebeam (Bluebeam Revu CAD) Apparently they are very good at resolving issues.

*Expert Elite*
GTVic
Posts: 917
Registered: ‎09-07-2004
Message 18 of 21 (830 Views)

Re: Can I replace the DWG to PDF.pc3 with Adobe's PDF printer for batch plots?

01-08-2013 03:18 PM in reply to: GTVic

Merge is probably similar to Gradient Hatches and not implemented well. Gradient Hatches rely on DirectX and you end up with lo-res raster graphics. So that is an AutoCAD issue as opposed to printer driver.

 

 

Member
halfmast33
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-25-2013
Message 19 of 21 (585 Views)

Re: Can I replace the DWG to PDF.pc3 with Adobe's PDF printer for batch plots?

07-25-2013 10:27 AM in reply to: JGerth

Or reprint the DWGtoPDF PDF's with acrobat and select "Adobe PDF" printer

New Member
andrewmoody
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2014
Message 20 of 21 (270 Views)

Re: Can I replace the DWG to PDF.pc3 with Adobe's PDF printer for batch plots?

04-01-2014 11:31 AM in reply to: halfmast33

Install Ubuntu preferably on another computer. Print onto a flash card all your pdfs using acad 'Dwg to pdf'. Transfer flash to Ubuntu computer and using ubuntu document viewer print or email pdfs without any feint lines. Works every time.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.