AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Contributor
jpedersen
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-05-2012
Message 1 of 13 (449 Views)
Accepted Solution

Best way to display a logo in a titleblock

449 Views, 12 Replies
02-25-2014 11:02 AM

Afternoon All,

 

I have always struggled with the best way to deal with a client logo in our titleblocks.

 

The way I was shown when I started was to insert the logo file in a new Autocad drawing and trace it using plines, arcs...

The problem: the time involved and it never looks as good as the image.

 

On several projects we have inserted the logo as a Raster Image Reference and it looks great.

The problem: will not bind when sending drawings out of the office.

 

What are your thoughts?

 

Any advice/help would be great!

Autodesk Plant 3D Design Suite Premium 2015
Navisworks Freedom-Sim-Manage 2015

Open the image with PAINT

CTRL+A

CTRL+C

Go to autocad and use command PASTESPEC

Use metafile

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,262
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 13 (448 Views)

Re: Best way to display a logo in a titleblock

02-25-2014 11:04 AM in reply to: jpedersen

Yes, you can bind an image into a drawing.

 

*Expert Elite*
braudpat
Posts: 2,093
Registered: ‎12-15-2006
Message 3 of 13 (434 Views)

Re: Best way to display a logo in a titleblock

02-25-2014 11:17 AM in reply to: jpedersen

 

Hello

 

To send drawings (projects) to somebody else why you don't use the ETransmit feature ?

 

With ETransmit the main DWG + ALL Xref XREF DWGs, Xref Images, Xref PDFs, etc, FONTs, PC3 drivers, etc will be included in the ETransmit package ...

 

Bye, Pat

 

Bye, Pat

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,367
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 13 (420 Views)

Re: Best way to display a logo in a titleblock

02-25-2014 11:55 AM in reply to: jpedersen

My first preference is always for a CAD object.  If the client hasn't provided one, I get the project lead to poke the client to see if they have one available (they don't always provide it up front).  Failing that, I look at building one using the client logo image.  If the logo is complex, then I go with that.  As for managing a referenced image, well... most clients are savvy enough to handle such things, as the drawings came off their system in the first place.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Contributor
jpedersen
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-05-2012
Message 5 of 13 (410 Views)

Re: Best way to display a logo in a titleblock

02-25-2014 12:19 PM in reply to: braudpat

braudpat wrote:

 

Hello

 

To send drawings (projects) to somebody else why you don't use the ETransmit feature ?

 

With ETransmit the main DWG + ALL Xref XREF DWGs, Xref Images, Xref PDFs, etc, FONTs, PC3 drivers, etc will be included in the ETransmit package ...

 

Bye, Pat

 


Pat,

 

I have used Etransmit in the past on sending out 3 or 4 drawings but isn't convenient when sending a large set of drawings.

Autodesk Plant 3D Design Suite Premium 2015
Navisworks Freedom-Sim-Manage 2015
Contributor
jpedersen
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-05-2012
Message 6 of 13 (407 Views)

Re: Best way to display a logo in a titleblock

02-25-2014 12:23 PM in reply to: dgorsman
I didn't think that most clients would have a logo as a CAD object. Most of the time I end up going to their website to get the logo.
Autodesk Plant 3D Design Suite Premium 2015
Navisworks Freedom-Sim-Manage 2015
Contributor
jpedersen
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-05-2012
Message 7 of 13 (401 Views)

Re: Best way to display a logo in a titleblock

02-25-2014 12:24 PM in reply to: Patchy

Patchy wrote:

Yes, you can bind an image into a drawing.

 


Patchy,

 

what is your process to bind images into the drawing?

Autodesk Plant 3D Design Suite Premium 2015
Navisworks Freedom-Sim-Manage 2015
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,262
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 8 of 13 (390 Views)

Re: Best way to display a logo in a titleblock

02-25-2014 12:33 PM in reply to: jpedersen

Open the image with PAINT

CTRL+A

CTRL+C

Go to autocad and use command PASTESPEC

Use metafile

**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,750
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 9 of 13 (383 Views)

Re: Best way to display a logo in a titleblock

02-25-2014 12:41 PM in reply to: Patchy

Good catch, Patchy.  (I was just about to suggest "metafile".)

 

The key here is that this inserts the image as a "Static" OLE object.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,262
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 10 of 13 (379 Views)

Re: Best way to display a logo in a titleblock

02-25-2014 12:42 PM in reply to: dmfrazier

:smileyvery-happy: I goofed for a second.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.