AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Active Contributor
RFreund
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎05-09-2012
Message 1 of 5 (5,217 Views)
Accepted Solution

Background Mask - Dimensions

5217 Views, 4 Replies
01-29-2013 04:02 PM

When I try to apply the background mask while inside the text editor of the dimension the background mask does not apply. However if I right click the dimension -> properites-> text->fill color -> background, it works.

Am I doing something wrong or do others have this issue?

 

Thanks!

www.HowToEngineer.com

Any method you described here that work are the choices, use set it in your DIMSTYLE as the default (or set an identical DIMSTYLE but with this option selected and change the dimensions as needed).

Use DIMTFILL and DIMTFILLCLR variablesw if you want to control them in a macro, lisp, or the command line for the active DIMSTYLE.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,349
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 5 (5,204 Views)

Re: Background Mask - Dimensions

01-30-2013 06:11 AM in reply to: RFreund

Limitations of the text editor in dimensions I believe: wring tool for the object type. It's been around for quite some time.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
RFreund
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎05-09-2012
Message 3 of 5 (5,202 Views)

Re: Background Mask - Dimensions

01-30-2013 06:18 AM in reply to: pendean

So is the correct way to mask dimensions using the properites and apply fill color as described above?

www.HowToEngineer.com
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,349
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 5 (5,192 Views)

Re: Background Mask - Dimensions

01-30-2013 06:36 AM in reply to: RFreund

Any method you described here that work are the choices, use set it in your DIMSTYLE as the default (or set an identical DIMSTYLE but with this option selected and change the dimensions as needed).

Use DIMTFILL and DIMTFILLCLR variablesw if you want to control them in a macro, lisp, or the command line for the active DIMSTYLE.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
jdouglas
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-26-2007
Message 5 of 5 (5,013 Views)

Re: Background Mask - Dimensions

05-16-2013 01:45 PM in reply to: RFreund

This was my question - exactly - and it worked like a charm!  Thanks, Dean

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!