AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
New Member
jason.rose
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-14-2013
Message 1 of 8 (457 Views)

Automate the Data Extraction (date and time)

457 Views, 7 Replies
01-14-2013 01:11 PM

I have a need to run a data extraction every night at lets say 2am and have it save to a .csv file.  Does anyone know of an easy way I can do that?

*Expert Elite*
M_Hensley
Posts: 1,721
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 2 of 8 (439 Views)

Re: Automate the Data Extraction (date and time)

01-15-2013 04:03 AM in reply to: jason.rose

Create a script file that has your data extraction commands in it. Now in Windows control panel create a scheduled task to launch AutoCAD using the /b switch followed by the name of the script file.

New Member
jason.rose
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-14-2013
Message 3 of 8 (428 Views)

Re: Automate the Data Extraction (date and time)

01-16-2013 06:09 AM in reply to: M_Hensley

I've been trying to write that script... but can't get it to work.  Is there a place I can go to get a working similar script and alter it.

*Expert Elite*
M_Hensley
Posts: 1,721
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 4 of 8 (419 Views)

Re: Automate the Data Extraction (date and time)

01-16-2013 12:07 PM in reply to: jason.rose

A script file is just a list of commands like you would type on the command line in AutoCAD. A script can't interact with a dialog box, so you need to use the command line version of each command. Just go through the operation manually using the command line, then open Notepad and type each command line entry on its own line (no spaces). Save it with a .scr extension. To test it type SCRIPT in AutoCAD and select the file.

New Member
mcollins
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-13-2014
Message 5 of 8 (204 Views)

Re: Automate the Data Extraction (date and time)

07-13-2014 05:04 PM in reply to: M_Hensley

how do you do it via  the command line

 

Distinguished Contributor
cadwomen
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎08-31-2003
Message 6 of 8 (195 Views)

Re: Automate the Data Extraction (date and time)

07-14-2014 02:49 AM in reply to: mcollins

Hy

 

seam´s like you need a trainig on ACAD first

 

cw

If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
New Member
mcollins
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-13-2014
Message 7 of 8 (188 Views)

Re: Automate the Data Extraction (date and time)

07-14-2014 05:33 AM in reply to: mcollins
I have script working but when I run it on other projects it does not work. So I tried to just run data extraction manually. it will work the first time, but when I try to run a new one on another project it will not count the blocks correctly they all say just 1

_________________________________________________________
Michael Collins
Controls Engineer

CONVEYOR HANDLING COMPANY, INC.
Direct: 443-561-3054 I Fax: 410-379-0700 I Cell: 443-542-3013
6715 Santa Barbara Court I Elkridge, MD 21075-5830
www.conveyorhandling.com
mcollins@conveyorhandling.com

[Description: Description: CHC_4CS1]

Confidentiality Warning: This email communication, including attachments, may contain confidential, privileged, copyrighted or other legally protected information. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any use, disclosure, dissemination, distribution, or copying of this communication, or any of its contents, is strictly prohibited. If you have received this email communication in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete this original message and any copy of it, including all attachments, from your computer system.
Valued Contributor
tq1918
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 8 of 8 (188 Views)

Re: Automate the Data Extraction (date and time)

07-14-2014 05:33 AM in reply to: M_Hensley

Thank you Mr. M_Hensley,

 

That was the simplest explanation of scripting I have ever heard or read.  I normally add a string of commands together and put them in a button.  But I have to add filedia 0 to the beginning of some of the the commands and filedia 1 to the end of each of my macro strings.  It seems that scripts are so much better.  Thanks again and Kudos to you.  

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.