AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015

Reply
Mentor
michaelmead
Posts: 278
Registered: ‎03-02-2012
Message 1 of 43 (991 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD genius NEEDED

991 Views, 42 Replies
09-26-2012 07:43 PM

Hi, I am a BIM Coordinator and work with Revit every day, but AutoCAD has me pulling out my hair and beating my head against my keyboard because it takes so long to do the most mundane tasks! I have a "super" computer with 32GB (yes 32GB) of RAM, a large SSHD, with twin xeon E5-2650 processors (so it’s NOT a hardware issue). But when I open a 10MB (yes only 10MB!) CAD file (.dwg) from one of my cross company co-workers and I simply try to rotate it in 3D view, or try to explode everything it seizes up (or just spins my little mouse curser for like 10 min! seriously) What gives!?!? I’ve had Autodesk support on the line many times and they are always like sign out of the on-line thing and turn on your hardware accelerator. Seriously?? That’s all you got? Like I didn’t think of that? Come on, I know there is an AutoCAD genius out there that knows WTF is up with this crap. I read somewhere that the command exporttoautocad and aectoacad commands dumps a lot of BS out of the files and that helped a little, but what I need is a major AUTOCAD enema! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE HELP!! I beg you! P.S. AUTOCAD you suck!!

-Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,240
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 43 (982 Views)
*Expert Elite*
3wood
Posts: 1,030
Registered: ‎03-25-2009
Message 3 of 43 (967 Views)

Re: AutoCAD genius NEEDED

09-26-2012 11:06 PM in reply to: michaelmead

Can you post the drawing in 2007 format please?

Member
tatakpinoy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-21-2011
Message 4 of 43 (959 Views)

Re: AutoCAD genius NEEDED

09-27-2012 12:53 AM in reply to: michaelmead

Can you try this.. in the command prompt

 

1) purge

 

2)audit

 

3) _scalelistedit, enter delete

Contributor
jfountain
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-10-2004
Message 5 of 43 (928 Views)

Re: AutoCAD genius NEEDED

09-27-2012 07:11 AM in reply to: michaelmead

I'm sure Autodesk asked, but do you have a supported video card with the latest drivers installed?

Mentor
michaelmead
Posts: 278
Registered: ‎03-02-2012
Message 6 of 43 (925 Views)

Re: AutoCAD genius NEEDED

09-27-2012 07:13 AM in reply to: 3wood

I tried to attache the 2007 format...but I got the error message:

 

Please correct the highlighted errors and try again.

  • The attachment file size is too large. The maximum file size is: 1,572,864 bytes
Mentor
michaelmead
Posts: 278
Registered: ‎03-02-2012
Message 7 of 43 (924 Views)

Re: AutoCAD genius NEEDED

09-27-2012 07:14 AM in reply to: jfountain

Yes, I do. I have a NVIDIA Quatro 4000

Contributor
jfountain
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-10-2004
Message 8 of 43 (912 Views)

Re: AutoCAD genius NEEDED

09-27-2012 07:28 AM in reply to: michaelmead
I guess I have no other ideas then. I just exported a Revit model to AutoCAD. opened the 61 mb file in AutoCAD. It was slower than revit to revolve the model, but it wasn't terrible.... I'm not familiar with your processors, are they AMD or Intel? I thought I read somewhere that AutoCAD had issues with AMD processors. I could be wrong though.
New Member
RYANCLYFORD
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-29-2011
Message 9 of 43 (906 Views)

Re: AutoCAD genius NEEDED

09-27-2012 07:42 AM in reply to: michaelmead

Whenever I run into this problem from co-workers it is because they made a hatch detail at an infinately small scale which is holding about 1000000 lines in it. Even if you have an amazing computer autocad hatches had hold millions of lines in a single hatch, no matter the size.

I would suggest opening your drawing, typing in "hpmaxlines" into the command line, changing the default to 1000 saving the drawing, shut down autocad, restart it and open the drawing. You will have to fix your hatches to be scaled to new sizes and they may not look as good, but you should use as small of a "hpmaxlines" as possible to get through with descent looking drawings. Hope that works.

Distinguished Contributor
Hammer.john.j
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 10 of 43 (902 Views)

Re: AutoCAD genius NEEDED

09-27-2012 07:52 AM in reply to: michaelmead

10MB is very large for a cad file.  We have some 2 mile long road projects with surfaces approaching this file size and we've found that the profile view really causes hangups with performance... there maybe other things that degrade performance also.  What is the content of the drawing thats pushing you to 10mb would be my first question.

John Hammer, LA
Dell Precision T3500 - Xenon W3550 @ 3.07 (4 core)
Ram @ 12Gb
64bit Win7 Pro
Samsung SSD
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 - Dual Monitors
Cat 6 network with GlobalScape Avail Agent - WAFS
Infrastructure Design Suite Premium and Civil 3D 2012 & 2014
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.