Community
AutoCAD Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AutoCAD file clean up task, need to remove all the layers except 4 layers.

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
Anonymous
3361 Views, 10 Replies

AutoCAD file clean up task, need to remove all the layers except 4 layers.

hi

I am very new to AutoCAD, I am facing a challange and i need to seek guidance. Not sure if similar post is already available.

I have 1000 plus DWG files and i want to process each file, I have to delete all the layers example - Title, Anno, Extra layers, Except the 4 layers (names are fixed for these layers).

Is there a way to only keep 4 layers and remove the rest of the layer. I am looking forward to use a lisp routine which serves my purpose and doesnot ask user to input the names.

As i am quiet new to autocad hence not aware it. Appreciate if any one can guid me.

Thanks

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

I think you can use Etransmit command to delete all unused layer in all selected drawings.please see attached image.(it may delete unused blocks also)

ETRANSMIT.png

Or you can use Purge command to delete unused layers in dwg file.please find attached image.

PURGE.png

I think this will help you because after entering command user can select appropriate option and no need to enter name of each layer.

Message 3 of 11
Anonymous

Hi,

Ok with cleaning portion but stuck here--

I m facing a small challange here after cleaning my layers there are some small portion of legends still appearing (left over) on the top of my drawing.

The reason these legends are available cause they are the part of the layer i do not wish to delete. However I dont want these legends

I just want to delete these small left over legends which lay atop on the empty space.

I have to manually select them and delete them, for better understanding i am attaching an image of these pieces. - leftOverLegends.png ( i dont want)